UT Practice Permit Test

Based on the 2022 UT DLD Manual

Permit Practice Tests (150 questions)

You might not believe that you could possibly fail the written test. After all, the material is common sense, right? Wrong. Most people mistakenly assume they know enough, but ultimately leave the testing office empty-handed.  In fact, statistics reveal that 2 out of 3 people fail the exam.  Not exactly a good number. Fortunately, we’ve got you covered.  We’re here to help you pass your Utah permit test with our study material. On this page, you’ll find a list of resources that we’ve painstakingly put together for you. You’ll find the instant feedback of our interactive Utah practice permit tests invaluable while the official Utah Drivers Handbook makes an excellent reference.  Need a motorcycle permit?  We have study material to help you conquer that exam too. Utah was built for adventure and for those that simply want to explore the outdoors.  Utah is filled with outdoor opportunities including an abundance of national parks, ski resorts, and world renowned golf courses.   With a myriad of activities available across this vast state you will need to get yourself on the road. The first step in getting yourself roadworthy is earning your learners permit or drivers license. Before you can get your permit or license, the state of Utah requires that you pass a written knowledge test covering the rules of the road and road signs.  Start preparing for the exam with our free study guides and DMV practice tests.

Utah Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your UT License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Utah has implemented a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) that is designed to reduce the risk associated with first-time teen drivers by making them progress through a series of stages before earning their full, unrestricted license. Ages and stages for the program are:

  • 15 years old – Learner’s Permit
  • With Learner’s Permit – Driver’s Education
  • Under 18 years old – Full, Unrestricted Driver’s License

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Utah?

  • Form DLD6A – Learner’s Permit Application
  • Proof of residence, birth and Social Security Number – here is a list of acceptable documents
  • $15 for permit fee

You will also need to complete a medical questionnaire and take a written knowledge test and a vision test.

Where do I file my UT driver’s license application?

You can apply in person at any driver license office.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://dmv.utah.gov/offices for office locations, hours and contact information.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, all teens 18 years old and younger must complete a driver’s education course to receive their first license.

What if I am new to Utah?

If you already have your license, visit a driver license office to transfer your out of state license to Utah. You will have to pay a $25 fee. If you have your permit, contact your driver license office for information on how to proceed.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Utah written test covers road signs, safe driving practices, driving and traffic laws and license sanctions. All questions are taken from the Utah Drivers License Handbook. Here are two examples of content from that handbook that you could be asked questions about on the written test:

  • You should yield the right-of-way to a driver who is at the intersection before you and to drivers in the opposite lane when you are making a left turn
  • In Utah, there is the “Basic Speed Law” which states that you may never drive faster than is reasonably safe

How is the test formatted?

The test is delivered in multiple choice format.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, all questions are taken from the Utah Driver’s License Handbook. If you study the handbook sufficiently no question should appear “tricky.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 50 questions on the test and you must answer at least 40 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

You should read and study the Utah Driver’s Handbook as all test questions are taken from the content of this book. To ensure you are sufficiently knowledgeable on the handbook’s content, take practice tests online. If you notice through your test results that you are weak in certain areas be sure to devote more study time to those areas.

Where can I get a free Utah Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer free handbooks.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

On the test, you may be shown several common road signs and asked to identify what they mean. You will also be given a number of written questions based upon the class of license you are applying for; safe driving practices; driving and traffic laws; and license sanctions – so be sure to pay extra attention to these subject areas. To ensure you are building the knowledge necessary to pass the test, take a practice test online.

What should I do the night before the test?

Ideally, you will have studied sufficiently in the previous nights so that all you have to on the night before the test is do a light review of the driver’s handbook and take a practice test. You should plan on getting a good night’s rest so that you are rested and refreshed for the test the next day.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local driver license office to see if you can schedule an appointment.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local driver license office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Form DLD6A – Learner’s Permit Application
  • Proof of residence, birth and Social Security Number – here is a list of acceptable documents
  • $15 for permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a fee of $15.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The knowledge test contains 50 questions covering traffic laws, safe driving practices and road signs. You need to answer at least 40 correctly to pass. When taking the test you cannot refer to any notes or the driver’s handbook. To get more familiar with the test format, take a practice test formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit, which allows you to begin supervised driving practice as well as enroll in driver’s education, which is required to earn your license if you are 18 years old or younger.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

You are allowed to take two written tests per day if the office has time available.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

With your learner’s permit you can begin supervised driving practice. You need to log 40 hours of practice, with at least 10 hours coming at night. You can also enroll in driver’s ed course that includes 18 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel training and 6 hours of driving observation.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for a license once you have met the following requirements:

  • You are at least 16 years old
  • You have completed driver’s ed
  • You have logged 40 hours of supervised driving
  • You have held your Learner’s Permit for six months

Can I drive anywhere in Utah with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, as long as you are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian or a driving instructor, you can drive on any Utah public road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are required to complete at least 10 of your 40 supervised driving practice hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian or a driving instructor.

What should I do if I have a lost Utah Learner’s Permit?

To replace a lost or stolen permit, visit your local driver license office. You will need to pay a $15 fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

The best way to ensure you are ready to pass is to get as much driving practice as possible and to be sure you pay attention during your driver’s ed course. Take your instructor’s (or supervising driver’s) criticism and suggestions to heart and try to improve each time you drive.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Yes, you should practice all the common vehicle maneuvers such as three-point turns, parallel parking, parking in a parking space, quick stops, backing, right and left turns, passing, following, proper lane observance and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

You should drive in traffic being sure to use good defensive driving skills to stay safe. That means signaling when turning or changing lanes, following at a safe distance and obeying road signs. You should also practice vehicle maneuvers such as turns, parking, stopping, accelerating and more.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local driver license office to schedule an appointment.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test a local driver license office. There may also be third-party testers available in your area, check with your driver license office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

You should bring all of the following:

  • Form DLD6A – Utah Driver’s License Application
  • Proof of residency, birth and Social Security Number – acceptable documents
  • Learner’s Permit
  • $30 for license fee

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the test you will be required to demonstrate your driving ability. That means you will need to use proper driving techniques; show good behavior and attitude; display good driving posture; make proper use of lanes; execute left and right turns; start and stop smoothly; park on hills and between cars; observe traffic signs and signals; back up and make U-turns; enter and exit intersections; and signal when appropriate.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

New drivers fail because of nerves, because of a lack of practice, because they receive a traffic violation and because they make too many small errors that add up to a failing score.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Not listening to the examiner
  • Not obeying a road sign
  • Exceeding the speed limit
  • Failing to signal when changing lanes
  • Following too closely

What happens if I fail the driving test?

The examiner will explain what you did wrong and tell you when you can retake the exam – you may be able to take the test the next day or you may have to wait several weeks.

How many times can I retake the test if I failed?

You can take the test three times before you have to pay another license fee.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Provisional Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a Utah license?

  • You cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or over or you are driving due to work, school, farming or an emergency
  • You may not drive with passengers who are not immediate family members until six months after your license was issued, unless you turn 18, are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or over or it’s an emergency or farming related

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in UT?

Utah requires drivers to carry auto insurance. Minimum requirements for that coverage are: $25,000 per person for bodily injury; $65,000 per accident for bodily injury; and $15,000 per accident for property damage.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You can renew a valid Utah Driver’s License up to six months before it expires. If your license has been expired for six months or longer you will need to pass a written knowledge test.

You can replace a lost or stolen license in person at a driver license office. You will need to pay an $18 duplicate license fee.

Where can I renew my Utah driver’s license?

You can renew your license online or in person at a driver license office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, you will need to pass a vision test to renew your license. The Utah test requires a visual acuity of 20/40 or better in at least one eye without correction to receive a license with no restrictions. Applicants with corrected visual acuity of the better eye of 20/50 to 20/70 may drive with restrictions, for example corrective lenses or daytime only.

How to Get Your Utah Learner’s Permit in 2022

Getting your Utah driver’s license doesn’t have to be frustrating and time consuming. If you’re ready to apply but aren’t sure where to begin, you’ve come to the right place. Our easy-to-follow guide will help you understand each step of the process, from preparing for the permits to getting your to eventually earning unrestricted driving privileges.

Like most other states, Utah requires that all young drivers go through a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process that helps you learn crucial driving skills while remaining under the supervision of a licensed driver. GDL programs have been shown to make the roads safer by reducing traffic accidents caused by a lack of driving experience.

The Utah GDL program includes three stages:

  • Learner Permit
  • Intermediate License
  • Full License

This guide will demonstrate how to pass the Utah permit test and eventually go on to become a fully licensed driver.

Learner’s Permit

When you are at least 15 years old, you will be allowed to apply for your Learner Permit in Utah. To do so, you will be required to pass a 50-question written permit test that will check your knowledge of the rules of the road as well as traffic signs.

The Utah DMV Test — What You Need to Know

Let’s talk about why you need your learner’s permit or drivers license. Whether you need to get to work or simply want to hang out with your friends across town, you need to get mobile and that means getting your Utah learners permit.  To become a licensed driver, you’ll have to pass Utah’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) permit test. The UT permit test is a written test designed to evaluate your level of knowledge of the rules of the road, Utah traffic laws, safe driving techniques, and various road signs through the use of multiple-choice test questions.

Study, Study, Study

Study is very important if you want to pass the permit test on your first try. We offer a free copy of the Utah Driver’s Handbook for you to use, and you can request a physical copy by visiting the offices of the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS), who is in charge of driver’s licenses in the state.

Make Sure to Take Practice Exams

If you aren’t taking practice exams, you are missing out on a valuable resource. Our Utah practice permit test includes many of the same topics you will find on the actual exam, and passing it before you try the real thing should give you a good idea of how prepared you are.

Visit the DPS Offices and Take Your Tests

On the day of your test, bring along:

  • Your completed Learner Permit application, which your parent or guardian must sign.
  • Your birth certificate, Social Security number and proof of Utah residence. Mail or utility bills in your parent or guardian’s name can count as proof of residence.
  • $15.00 in fees.

Now, you will be given the permit test. Do your best to remain focused and remember everything you studied. When you pass, you will also be asked to do a vision test and fill out a medical questionnaire, which will determine whether you are healthy enough to drive. Your picture will also be taken for your license at this time, so be sure to wear a shirt you like!

Get to Practicing

While holding your permit, you must complete 40 hours of practice driving while under the supervision of a licensed driver age 18 or over. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night. Your parent or guardian must provide a signature to show that you completed this practice.

To move on to the next stage in the GDL process, you will also be required to complete a state-approved driver’s education course at this time.

Intermediate License

When you are 16 years old and you have held your permit for six months, you are eligible to apply for your Intermediate License. To do so, you will be required to pass a behind-the-wheel road test, which will check how well you maintain control over your vehicle and observe traffic signs and laws.

When you are ready, schedule an appointment at the DPS offices. On test day, be sure to bring along:

  • Your completed Driver License Application.
  • Your Learner Permit.
  • Your parent or guardian, who must sign to prove that you completed your practice driving.
  • $30 in fees.

Note: You also have an option of scheduling your driving test with a third-party company or taking it as a part of driver’s education. If you do either of these options, you will not need to do the test again at the DPS offices.

When you pass your driving test, you will need to also pass another vision test and fill out another medical questionnaire. When you do, you will be given your Intermediate License, which comes with some restrictions. Unless you are supervised by a licensed adult over age 21, you may not:

  • Drive between midnight and 5 a.m. except when traveling to and from work.
  • Drive with passengers under the age of 18 who are not family members for the first six months of holding the license.

Driver’s License

When you are 17 years old and you have held your Intermediate License for at least six months, the restrictions will be removed from your license.

Congratulations! You may now drive without restriction.

Additional Information

When you pay your $15 in fees for the Learner Permit, you will have three chances to pass the permit test over the course of the next year. If you don’t pass during this time, you will need to pay an additional fee.

Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)

You might not believe that you could possibly fail the written test. After all, the material is common sense, right? Wrong. Most people mistakenly assume they know enough, but ultimately leave the testing office empty-handed.  In fact, statistics reveal that 2 out of 3 people fail the exam.  Not exactly a good number. Fortunately, we’ve got you covered.  We’re here to help you pass your Utah permit test with our study material. On this page, you’ll find a list of resources that we’ve painstakingly put together for you. You’ll find the instant feedback of our interactive Utah practice permit tests invaluable while the official Utah Drivers Handbook makes an excellent reference.  Need a motorcycle permit?  We have study material to help you conquer that exam too. Utah was built for adventure and for those that simply want to explore the outdoors.  Utah is filled with outdoor opportunities including an abundance of national parks, ski resorts, and world renowned golf courses.   With a myriad of activities available across this vast state you will need to get yourself on the road. The first step in getting yourself roadworthy is earning your learners permit or drivers license. Before you can get your permit or license, the state of Utah requires that you pass a written knowledge test covering the rules of the road and road signs.  Start preparing for the exam with our free study guides and DMV practice tests.

Utah Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your UT License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Utah has implemented a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) that is designed to reduce the risk associated with first-time teen drivers by making them progress through a series of stages before earning their full, unrestricted license. Ages and stages for the program are:

  • 15 years old – Learner’s Permit
  • With Learner’s Permit – Driver’s Education
  • Under 18 years old – Full, Unrestricted Driver’s License

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Utah?

  • Form DLD6A – Learner’s Permit Application
  • Proof of residence, birth and Social Security Number – here is a list of acceptable documents
  • $15 for permit fee

You will also need to complete a medical questionnaire and take a written knowledge test and a vision test.

Where do I file my UT driver’s license application?

You can apply in person at any driver license office.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://dmv.utah.gov/offices for office locations, hours and contact information.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, all teens 18 years old and younger must complete a driver’s education course to receive their first license.

What if I am new to Utah?

If you already have your license, visit a driver license office to transfer your out of state license to Utah. You will have to pay a $25 fee. If you have your permit, contact your driver license office for information on how to proceed.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Utah written test covers road signs, safe driving practices, driving and traffic laws and license sanctions. All questions are taken from the Utah Drivers License Handbook. Here are two examples of content from that handbook that you could be asked questions about on the written test:

  • You should yield the right-of-way to a driver who is at the intersection before you and to drivers in the opposite lane when you are making a left turn
  • In Utah, there is the “Basic Speed Law” which states that you may never drive faster than is reasonably safe

How is the test formatted?

The test is delivered in multiple choice format.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, all questions are taken from the Utah Driver’s License Handbook. If you study the handbook sufficiently no question should appear “tricky.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 50 questions on the test and you must answer at least 40 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

You should read and study the Utah Driver’s Handbook as all test questions are taken from the content of this book. To ensure you are sufficiently knowledgeable on the handbook’s content, take practice tests online. If you notice through your test results that you are weak in certain areas be sure to devote more study time to those areas.

Where can I get a free Utah Driver’s Manual to study?

We offer free handbooks.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

On the test, you may be shown several common road signs and asked to identify what they mean. You will also be given a number of written questions based upon the class of license you are applying for; safe driving practices; driving and traffic laws; and license sanctions – so be sure to pay extra attention to these subject areas. To ensure you are building the knowledge necessary to pass the test, take a practice test online.

What should I do the night before the test?

Ideally, you will have studied sufficiently in the previous nights so that all you have to on the night before the test is do a light review of the driver’s handbook and take a practice test. You should plan on getting a good night’s rest so that you are rested and refreshed for the test the next day.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local driver license office to see if you can schedule an appointment.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local driver license office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Form DLD6A – Learner’s Permit Application
  • Proof of residence, birth and Social Security Number – here is a list of acceptable documents
  • $15 for permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a fee of $15.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The knowledge test contains 50 questions covering traffic laws, safe driving practices and road signs. You need to answer at least 40 correctly to pass. When taking the test you cannot refer to any notes or the driver’s handbook. To get more familiar with the test format, take a practice test formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit, which allows you to begin supervised driving practice as well as enroll in driver’s education, which is required to earn your license if you are 18 years old or younger.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

You are allowed to take two written tests per day if the office has time available.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

With your learner’s permit you can begin supervised driving practice. You need to log 40 hours of practice, with at least 10 hours coming at night. You can also enroll in driver’s ed course that includes 18 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel training and 6 hours of driving observation.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for a license once you have met the following requirements:

  • You are at least 16 years old
  • You have completed driver’s ed
  • You have logged 40 hours of supervised driving
  • You have held your Learner’s Permit for six months

Can I drive anywhere in Utah with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, as long as you are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian or a driving instructor, you can drive on any Utah public road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are required to complete at least 10 of your 40 supervised driving practice hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian or a driving instructor.

What should I do if I have a lost Utah Learner’s Permit?

To replace a lost or stolen permit, visit your local driver license office. You will need to pay a $15 fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

The best way to ensure you are ready to pass is to get as much driving practice as possible and to be sure you pay attention during your driver’s ed course. Take your instructor’s (or supervising driver’s) criticism and suggestions to heart and try to improve each time you drive.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Yes, you should practice all the common vehicle maneuvers such as three-point turns, parallel parking, parking in a parking space, quick stops, backing, right and left turns, passing, following, proper lane observance and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

You should drive in traffic being sure to use good defensive driving skills to stay safe. That means signaling when turning or changing lanes, following at a safe distance and obeying road signs. You should also practice vehicle maneuvers such as turns, parking, stopping, accelerating and more.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local driver license office to schedule an appointment.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test a local driver license office. There may also be third-party testers available in your area, check with your driver license office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

You should bring all of the following:

  • Form DLD6A – Utah Driver’s License Application
  • Proof of residency, birth and Social Security Number – acceptable documents
  • Learner’s Permit
  • $30 for license fee

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the test you will be required to demonstrate your driving ability. That means you will need to use proper driving techniques; show good behavior and attitude; display good driving posture; make proper use of lanes; execute left and right turns; start and stop smoothly; park on hills and between cars; observe traffic signs and signals; back up and make U-turns; enter and exit intersections; and signal when appropriate.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

New drivers fail because of nerves, because of a lack of practice, because they receive a traffic violation and because they make too many small errors that add up to a failing score.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Not listening to the examiner
  • Not obeying a road sign
  • Exceeding the speed limit
  • Failing to signal when changing lanes
  • Following too closely

What happens if I fail the driving test?

The examiner will explain what you did wrong and tell you when you can retake the exam – you may be able to take the test the next day or you may have to wait several weeks.

How many times can I retake the test if I failed?

You can take the test three times before you have to pay another license fee.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Provisional Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a Utah license?

  • You cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or over or you are driving due to work, school, farming or an emergency
  • You may not drive with passengers who are not immediate family members until six months after your license was issued, unless you turn 18, are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or over or it’s an emergency or farming related

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in UT?

Utah requires drivers to carry auto insurance. Minimum requirements for that coverage are: $25,000 per person for bodily injury; $65,000 per accident for bodily injury; and $15,000 per accident for property damage.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You can renew a valid Utah Driver’s License up to six months before it expires. If your license has been expired for six months or longer you will need to pass a written knowledge test.

You can replace a lost or stolen license in person at a driver license office. You will need to pay an $18 duplicate license fee.

Where can I renew my Utah driver’s license?

You can renew your license online or in person at a driver license office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, you will need to pass a vision test to renew your license. The Utah test requires a visual acuity of 20/40 or better in at least one eye without correction to receive a license with no restrictions. Applicants with corrected visual acuity of the better eye of 20/50 to 20/70 may drive with restrictions, for example corrective lenses or daytime only.

How to Get Your Utah Learner’s Permit in 2022

Getting your Utah driver’s license doesn’t have to be frustrating and time consuming. If you’re ready to apply but aren’t sure where to begin, you’ve come to the right place. Our easy-to-follow guide will help you understand each step of the process, from preparing for the permits to getting your to eventually earning unrestricted driving privileges.

Like most other states, Utah requires that all young drivers go through a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process that helps you learn crucial driving skills while remaining under the supervision of a licensed driver. GDL programs have been shown to make the roads safer by reducing traffic accidents caused by a lack of driving experience.

The Utah GDL program includes three stages:

  • Learner Permit
  • Intermediate License
  • Full License

This guide will demonstrate how to pass the Utah permit test and eventually go on to become a fully licensed driver.

Learner’s Permit

When you are at least 15 years old, you will be allowed to apply for your Learner Permit in Utah. To do so, you will be required to pass a 50-question written permit test that will check your knowledge of the rules of the road as well as traffic signs.

The Utah DMV Test — What You Need to Know

Let’s talk about why you need your learner’s permit or drivers license. Whether you need to get to work or simply want to hang out with your friends across town, you need to get mobile and that means getting your Utah learners permit.  To become a licensed driver, you’ll have to pass Utah’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) permit test. The UT permit test is a written test designed to evaluate your level of knowledge of the rules of the road, Utah traffic laws, safe driving techniques, and various road signs through the use of multiple-choice test questions.

Study, Study, Study

Study is very important if you want to pass the permit test on your first try. We offer a free copy of the Utah Driver’s Handbook for you to use, and you can request a physical copy by visiting the offices of the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS), who is in charge of driver’s licenses in the state.

Make Sure to Take Practice Exams

If you aren’t taking practice exams, you are missing out on a valuable resource. Our Utah practice permit test includes many of the same topics you will find on the actual exam, and passing it before you try the real thing should give you a good idea of how prepared you are.

Visit the DPS Offices and Take Your Tests

On the day of your test, bring along:

  • Your completed Learner Permit application, which your parent or guardian must sign.
  • Your birth certificate, Social Security number and proof of Utah residence. Mail or utility bills in your parent or guardian’s name can count as proof of residence.
  • $15.00 in fees.

Now, you will be given the permit test. Do your best to remain focused and remember everything you studied. When you pass, you will also be asked to do a vision test and fill out a medical questionnaire, which will determine whether you are healthy enough to drive. Your picture will also be taken for your license at this time, so be sure to wear a shirt you like!

Get to Practicing

While holding your permit, you must complete 40 hours of practice driving while under the supervision of a licensed driver age 18 or over. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night. Your parent or guardian must provide a signature to show that you completed this practice.

To move on to the next stage in the GDL process, you will also be required to complete a state-approved driver’s education course at this time.

Intermediate License

When you are 16 years old and you have held your permit for six months, you are eligible to apply for your Intermediate License. To do so, you will be required to pass a behind-the-wheel road test, which will check how well you maintain control over your vehicle and observe traffic signs and laws.

When you are ready, schedule an appointment at the DPS offices. On test day, be sure to bring along:

  • Your completed Driver License Application.
  • Your Learner Permit.
  • Your parent or guardian, who must sign to prove that you completed your practice driving.
  • $30 in fees.

Note: You also have an option of scheduling your driving test with a third-party company or taking it as a part of driver’s education. If you do either of these options, you will not need to do the test again at the DPS offices.

When you pass your driving test, you will need to also pass another vision test and fill out another medical questionnaire. When you do, you will be given your Intermediate License, which comes with some restrictions. Unless you are supervised by a licensed adult over age 21, you may not:

  • Drive between midnight and 5 a.m. except when traveling to and from work.
  • Drive with passengers under the age of 18 who are not family members for the first six months of holding the license.

Driver’s License

When you are 17 years old and you have held your Intermediate License for at least six months, the restrictions will be removed from your license.

Congratulations! You may now drive without restriction.

Additional Information

When you pay your $15 in fees for the Learner Permit, you will have three chances to pass the permit test over the course of the next year. If you don’t pass during this time, you will need to pay an additional fee.

UT Manuals

The latest official UT state manuals