WI Practice Permit Test

Based on the 2022 WV DMV Manual

Permit Practice Tests (150 questions)

Unfortunately, statistics tell us that the majority of test-takers fail the Wisconsin permit test, year after year. A failed test means having to not only retake the exam but in some cases paying a retesting fee.  With the right study tools and a little bit of effort, you can set yourself apart and pass the exam the first time. You’ll find that we’ve put together a valuable list of study material to help you do just that.  Our interactive Wisconsin practice permit tests are a great way to get a feel for what the real test is like.  You’ll also find a copy of the official Wisconsin Driver’s Handbook if you need a quick reference.  Everything you need to get started is here. Prairie scenery, vast lakes and rivers, football, and cheese — what’s not to love about America’s Dairy Land? For drivers and non-drivers alike, Wisconsin offers one-of-a-kind adventures and opportunities.  For those fortunate enough to have a drivers license, the possibilities are endless.  Before you can become a licensed driver you will need to pass a DMV written test.   Start taking the next steps to earn your learners permit or drivers license today with our free practice tests.  Test your knowledge of the rules of the road and road signs before you take the real thing.

Wisconsin Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your WI License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Wisconsin has instituted a three-step Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program (GDL) to better prepare teen drivers to drive safely with an unrestricted license. The three program steps and age requirements are:

  • Instruction (Learner’s) Permit – 15 ½ years old
  • Probationary Driver’s License – 16 years old
  • Unrestricted Driver’s License – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Wisconsin?

  • Proof of name, birth date, residency and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents
  • Form MV3001 – Driver License Application
  • Proof of enrollment in high school/equivalent program or high school diploma or equivalent
  • $35 for permit fee

Where do I file my WI driver’s license application?

You can apply in person at a DMV customer service center.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/find-dmv/default.aspx for office locations, hours and contact information. You can also call (608) 264-7447.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, Wisconsin requires all drivers under the age of 18 to complete a drivers ed course as part of its GDL program. The course should have 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction and 6 hours of driving observation.

What if I am new to Wisconsin?

You can get a probationary license if you are 16 years old, have held a valid out-of-state license or permit for at least six months without any violations and have completed driver’s ed and behind-the-wheel driver training.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The written test contains questions drawn from the content of the Wisconsin Motorists’ Handbook. The questions cover traffic laws, rules of the road, road signs, safe driving methods, fuel efficient operation of motor vehicles, effects of alcohol and drugs on driving, yielding the right of way to pedestrians and more. Here are two examples of content from the manual that you could be asked questions about on the written test:

  • When preparing to make a right turn, check traffic to the rear, signal and then move into the travel lane farthest to the right
  • When driving, both hands should be on the steering wheel, except when making necessary adjustments to the driving controls. To help avoid injury if your vehicle’s air bag goes off, it is best to hold the steering wheel with your right hand at 3:00 and your left hand at 9:00

How is the test formatted?

The Wisconsin written test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, questions on the Wisconsin written test are taken from the state Motorists’ Handbook. They are not meant to “trick” you but rather to ensure you have the knowledge needed to drive safely. If you study the handbook, no question should appear “tricky.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 50 questions on the test and you must answer at least 40 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

You should study the Wisconsin Motorists’ Handbook extensively. You can take practice tests to verify your knowledge and identify any weak areas that you need to study more.

Where can I get a free Wisconsin Driver’s Manual to study?

You can get a free manual here on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

When studying the Motorists’ Handbook pay careful attention to fuel efficient operation of a motor vehicle and to the effects of alcohol and drugs on driving. You should also try to memorize numerical data, such as measurements and distances. Finally, study road signs so that you can identify them and their meaning on site.

What should I do the night before the test?

Review the Wisconsin Motorists’ Handbook and take practice tests to build your confidence and ensure you have the knowledge to pass. If you find yourself missing questions centered on a particular subject, be sure to go back and devote additional study time to that subject in the manual.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local DMV customer service center to see if they accept appointments. If they do, you should schedule one to shorten your wait time.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local DMV customer service center.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Proof of name, birth date, residency and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents
  • Form MV3001 – Driver License Application
  • Proof of enrollment in high school/equivalent program or high school diploma or equivalent
  • $35 for permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $35 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The written test contains 50 questions and you can miss as many as 10 and still pass. When taking the test you cannot receive help from anyone or use your cell phone.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Instruction Permit and can begin supervised driving practice. You need to complete 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours coming at night.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next business day.

How many times can I retake the written test?

You are allowed five attempts within a one-year period. After that, you wil have to get special DMV approval to take the test again.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

Your Instruction Permit allows you to begin supervised driving practice with a qualified supervising driver. You need to complete 30 total hours of driving practice with at least 10 of those hours coming at night.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for your Probationary Driver’s License after you turn 16, have completed driver’s ed and have held your instruction permit for six months.

Can I drive anywhere in Wisconsin with my Learner’s Permit?

You can drive on any public road or street in Wisconsin as long as you are accompanied by a supervising driver.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are required to complete at least 10 of your 30 supervised driving practice hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a qualified supervising driver with at least two years of driving experience. Drivers who qualify as supervising drivers include:

  • Professional instructors age 19 and older
  • Parent, guardian or spouse age 19 or older
  • Any licensed driver age 21 or older who has written permission from your parent or legal guardian

What should I do if I have a lost Wisconsin Learner’s Permit?

Visit your local DMV customer service center to replace a lost or stolen permit. You will need a drive’s ed certificate of completion or Form MV3001 (Driver License Application) signed by a driving instructor.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

To pass the test you need to be able to do all of the following: accelerate smoothly; use the gas pedal, brake, steering wheel, and other controls correctly; handle curves properly; handle intersections; make left and right turns properly; signal and change lanes carefully; and obey traffic signals and posted signs. The best way to ensure you can do all of these things is to get lots of driving practice.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Yes, you should practice turns, including two-point and three-point turnabouts; backing up in a straight line; left and right turns; parallel parking; parking on a hill; accelerating smoothly; and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

You should practice common vehicle maneuvers such as parking, stopping, accelerating and turning. You should also practice driving in traffic where you need to follow at a safe distance, signal and use your vehicle’s mirrors. The test will be a combination of a maneuver course and driving on a public roadway. So you need to practice – and learn to excel – at both.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local DMV customer service center.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Form MV3001 – Driver License Application
  • Proof of name, birth date, residency and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents
  • Wisconsin Graduated Driver Licensing Supervised Driving Log
  • Proof of school enrollment, diploma or GED
  • $28 for Probationary License fee

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the test you will be asked to complete various maneuvers as well as to drive on a public roadway. You will need to demonstrate good vehicle control and outstanding driving knowledge. Among other things, you may need to stop smoothly and at the right spot; back in a straight line; turn safely while backing; back into/out of a parking space; judge distance; maintain a safe distance from other cars; and communicate to other drivers by signaling.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Lack of practice and nerves are two big reasons why new drivers fail. It’s easy to lose focus and commit too many errors that lead to a failing score. Stay calm and be confident in your ability to drive – but not overconfident as this can lead to dangerous driving that would also result in you failing your test.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Speeding
  • Refusing to follow the examiner’s instruction
  • Not checking mirrors when changing lanes
  • Forgetting to signal for a turn
  • Following too closely

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You will be allowed to retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

The examiner will go over what you did wrong and then tell you when you can take the test again. You may have to wait anywhere from one day to two weeks to retest.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a Wisconsin license?

  • For the first nine months, you cannot have more than one passenger except for immediate family members and other qualified adults
  • For the first nine months, you cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless driving between home, school and work

After you hold your Probationary License for two years and turn 18, you can get your regular Wisconsin Driver’s License.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in WI?

All Wisconsin drivers are required to have automobile insurance. Minimum coverage requirements are: $25,000 for injury or death of one person; $50,000 for injury or death of two or more people; and $10,000 for property damage.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You can renew your Wisconsin Driver’s License up to one year before it expires. The state will send you a renewal notice with instructions approximately 60 days before the expiration date, which is your birthday.

You can replace a lost or stolen license online, by mail or in person at a DMV customer service center.

Where can I renew my Wisconsin driver’s license?

You can renew your license in person at a DMV customer service center.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, you must pass a vision test when renewing your license. The Wisconsin DMV’s vision standard is 20/100 or better in at least one eye and a 20 degree horizontal field of vision.

If your vision is worse than the above set standard, you will be issued a Certificate of Vision Examination and referred to a licensed vision specialist.

How to Get Your Wisconsin Learner’s Permit in 2022

Are you ready to get your driver’s license in Wisconsin? Are you frustrated or confused because you don’t know where to begin? If so, our handy and easy-to-follow guide will help you through every step of the process, from passing your permit test to eventually earning unrestricted driving privileges.In Wisconsin, all young drivers are required to complete a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process that will allow you learn essential driving skills while remaining in a low-risk environment. Statistics have shown that GDL programs reduce the number of traffic accidents caused by inexperienced drivers.

In Wisconsin, the GDL process involves three steps:

  • Instruction Permit
  • Probationary License
  • Full License

This guide will demonstrate how to prepare for the Wisconsin permit test and move forward through the remaining stages of the GDL process.  Let’s get started!

Instruction Permit

Before you can apply for your Instruction Permit (or learner’s permit) in Wisconsin, you must be enrolled in a state-approved driver’s education course. When you have signed up, and you are at least 15 and a half years old, you are eligible to apply. To do so, you must pass a written knowledge test, which will check your awareness of the rules of the road, including your ability to recognize traffic signs.

The Wisconsin DMV Practice Test — What You Need to Know

Let’s talk about why you need your learner’s permit. Freedom, independence, travel, work, school, and family are all great reasons to get your permit and get mobile.   But before you can experience all the benefits that come with a permit, you’ll need to pass the Wisconsin permit test.  The written permit test is administered by Wisconsin’s Department of Transportation (DOT) and has questions designed to evaluate your knowledge of important traffic laws, traffic and road signs, and safe driving practices.

Study, Study, Study

We are happy to offer a free copy of the Wisconsin Motorist’s Handbook for you to use in your studies. Be sure to read each section carefully, devoting extra time to any chapters you don’t fully understand.

Take Practice Tests

Our Wisconsin practice permit test is a great resource. It contains many of the same subjects as the actual exam, and taking it should help you gauge your level of preparedness.

Visit the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (DOT) Offices and Take Your Test

When you feel prepared, visit the DOT offices, bringing along:

  • Proof of identification, including your birth certificate, U.S. passport and Social Security card.
  • Proof of Wisconsin residency, such as your parent’s utility bill or a school enrollment card.
  • A Driver License Application (Form MV3001), which has been signed by your parent or guardian.
  • Proof that you are enrolled in or have completed school.
  • $35 in fees.

Now, you will take the permit test. Stay calm and do your best. You have studied hard, and now it’s your time to shine! When you finish, you will be given a vision test to make sure you can see well enough to drive. If you wear glasses or contact lenses, make sure you have them with you.

Practice, Practice, Practice

Once you have your Instruction Permit, you can complete driver’s education and get to practicing. You must practice at least 30 hours while under the supervision of a licensed driver. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night. Record your practice hours using the Wisconsin Graduated Driver Licensing Supervised Driving Log (Form HS-303). The supervising driver will need to sign this form.

Probationary License

When you are 16 years old, you have held your instruction permit for six months without any traffic violations, you have completed driver’s education and completed your practice hours, you are ready to take the behind-the-wheel driving test and apply for your Probationary License.

When you are ready, visit the DOT offices, bringing along:

  • Your completed Driver License Application, signed by your parent or guardian.
  • The same identification and residency documents you used before.
  • A new document of proof to show that you are enrolled in school.
  • Form HS-303 to show that you completed your practice driving.
  • $28 in fees.

At this point, you will be given your road test, which will check how well you maintain control over your vehicle and pay attention to traffic laws. As long as you have been practicing, passing this test should be very easy. Don’t psych yourself out!

With your Probationary License, you must follow a few rules. During the first nine months, unless you are supervised by your parent or guardian, you may not:

  • Drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless driving between work, school and home.
  • Drive with more than one passenger except for immediate family members.

Driver’s License

When you are 19 years old and have held your Probationary License for at least two years, you qualify for a Full License. Visit the DOT offices, turn in your Probationary License, pass another vision exam and pay $28 in fees.

Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.

Additional Information

If you want to skip driver’s education, you must wait until you are 18 years old to apply for your Probationary License. You will then be able to get your Full License when you are 20 years old.

Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)

Unfortunately, statistics tell us that the majority of test-takers fail the Wisconsin permit test, year after year. A failed test means having to not only retake the exam but in some cases paying a retesting fee.  With the right study tools and a little bit of effort, you can set yourself apart and pass the exam the first time. You’ll find that we’ve put together a valuable list of study material to help you do just that.  Our interactive Wisconsin practice permit tests are a great way to get a feel for what the real test is like.  You’ll also find a copy of the official Wisconsin Driver’s Handbook if you need a quick reference.  Everything you need to get started is here. Prairie scenery, vast lakes and rivers, football, and cheese — what’s not to love about America’s Dairy Land? For drivers and non-drivers alike, Wisconsin offers one-of-a-kind adventures and opportunities.  For those fortunate enough to have a drivers license, the possibilities are endless.  Before you can become a licensed driver you will need to pass a DMV written test.   Start taking the next steps to earn your learners permit or drivers license today with our free practice tests.  Test your knowledge of the rules of the road and road signs before you take the real thing.

Wisconsin Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your WI License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Wisconsin has instituted a three-step Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program (GDL) to better prepare teen drivers to drive safely with an unrestricted license. The three program steps and age requirements are:

  • Instruction (Learner’s) Permit – 15 ½ years old
  • Probationary Driver’s License – 16 years old
  • Unrestricted Driver’s License – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Wisconsin?

  • Proof of name, birth date, residency and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents
  • Form MV3001 – Driver License Application
  • Proof of enrollment in high school/equivalent program or high school diploma or equivalent
  • $35 for permit fee

Where do I file my WI driver’s license application?

You can apply in person at a DMV customer service center.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/find-dmv/default.aspx for office locations, hours and contact information. You can also call (608) 264-7447.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, Wisconsin requires all drivers under the age of 18 to complete a drivers ed course as part of its GDL program. The course should have 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction and 6 hours of driving observation.

What if I am new to Wisconsin?

You can get a probationary license if you are 16 years old, have held a valid out-of-state license or permit for at least six months without any violations and have completed driver’s ed and behind-the-wheel driver training.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The written test contains questions drawn from the content of the Wisconsin Motorists’ Handbook. The questions cover traffic laws, rules of the road, road signs, safe driving methods, fuel efficient operation of motor vehicles, effects of alcohol and drugs on driving, yielding the right of way to pedestrians and more. Here are two examples of content from the manual that you could be asked questions about on the written test:

  • When preparing to make a right turn, check traffic to the rear, signal and then move into the travel lane farthest to the right
  • When driving, both hands should be on the steering wheel, except when making necessary adjustments to the driving controls. To help avoid injury if your vehicle’s air bag goes off, it is best to hold the steering wheel with your right hand at 3:00 and your left hand at 9:00

How is the test formatted?

The Wisconsin written test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, questions on the Wisconsin written test are taken from the state Motorists’ Handbook. They are not meant to “trick” you but rather to ensure you have the knowledge needed to drive safely. If you study the handbook, no question should appear “tricky.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 50 questions on the test and you must answer at least 40 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

You should study the Wisconsin Motorists’ Handbook extensively. You can take practice tests to verify your knowledge and identify any weak areas that you need to study more.

Where can I get a free Wisconsin Driver’s Manual to study?

You can get a free manual here on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

When studying the Motorists’ Handbook pay careful attention to fuel efficient operation of a motor vehicle and to the effects of alcohol and drugs on driving. You should also try to memorize numerical data, such as measurements and distances. Finally, study road signs so that you can identify them and their meaning on site.

What should I do the night before the test?

Review the Wisconsin Motorists’ Handbook and take practice tests to build your confidence and ensure you have the knowledge to pass. If you find yourself missing questions centered on a particular subject, be sure to go back and devote additional study time to that subject in the manual.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local DMV customer service center to see if they accept appointments. If they do, you should schedule one to shorten your wait time.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local DMV customer service center.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Proof of name, birth date, residency and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents
  • Form MV3001 – Driver License Application
  • Proof of enrollment in high school/equivalent program or high school diploma or equivalent
  • $35 for permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $35 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The written test contains 50 questions and you can miss as many as 10 and still pass. When taking the test you cannot receive help from anyone or use your cell phone.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Instruction Permit and can begin supervised driving practice. You need to complete 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours coming at night.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next business day.

How many times can I retake the written test?

You are allowed five attempts within a one-year period. After that, you wil have to get special DMV approval to take the test again.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

Your Instruction Permit allows you to begin supervised driving practice with a qualified supervising driver. You need to complete 30 total hours of driving practice with at least 10 of those hours coming at night.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for your Probationary Driver’s License after you turn 16, have completed driver’s ed and have held your instruction permit for six months.

Can I drive anywhere in Wisconsin with my Learner’s Permit?

You can drive on any public road or street in Wisconsin as long as you are accompanied by a supervising driver.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you are required to complete at least 10 of your 30 supervised driving practice hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a qualified supervising driver with at least two years of driving experience. Drivers who qualify as supervising drivers include:

  • Professional instructors age 19 and older
  • Parent, guardian or spouse age 19 or older
  • Any licensed driver age 21 or older who has written permission from your parent or legal guardian

What should I do if I have a lost Wisconsin Learner’s Permit?

Visit your local DMV customer service center to replace a lost or stolen permit. You will need a drive’s ed certificate of completion or Form MV3001 (Driver License Application) signed by a driving instructor.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

To pass the test you need to be able to do all of the following: accelerate smoothly; use the gas pedal, brake, steering wheel, and other controls correctly; handle curves properly; handle intersections; make left and right turns properly; signal and change lanes carefully; and obey traffic signals and posted signs. The best way to ensure you can do all of these things is to get lots of driving practice.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Yes, you should practice turns, including two-point and three-point turnabouts; backing up in a straight line; left and right turns; parallel parking; parking on a hill; accelerating smoothly; and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

You should practice common vehicle maneuvers such as parking, stopping, accelerating and turning. You should also practice driving in traffic where you need to follow at a safe distance, signal and use your vehicle’s mirrors. The test will be a combination of a maneuver course and driving on a public roadway. So you need to practice – and learn to excel – at both.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local DMV customer service center.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Form MV3001 – Driver License Application
  • Proof of name, birth date, residency and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents
  • Wisconsin Graduated Driver Licensing Supervised Driving Log
  • Proof of school enrollment, diploma or GED
  • $28 for Probationary License fee

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the test you will be asked to complete various maneuvers as well as to drive on a public roadway. You will need to demonstrate good vehicle control and outstanding driving knowledge. Among other things, you may need to stop smoothly and at the right spot; back in a straight line; turn safely while backing; back into/out of a parking space; judge distance; maintain a safe distance from other cars; and communicate to other drivers by signaling.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Lack of practice and nerves are two big reasons why new drivers fail. It’s easy to lose focus and commit too many errors that lead to a failing score. Stay calm and be confident in your ability to drive – but not overconfident as this can lead to dangerous driving that would also result in you failing your test.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Speeding
  • Refusing to follow the examiner’s instruction
  • Not checking mirrors when changing lanes
  • Forgetting to signal for a turn
  • Following too closely

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You will be allowed to retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

The examiner will go over what you did wrong and then tell you when you can take the test again. You may have to wait anywhere from one day to two weeks to retest.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Wisconsin Probationary Driver’s License.

What restrictions come with a Wisconsin license?

  • For the first nine months, you cannot have more than one passenger except for immediate family members and other qualified adults
  • For the first nine months, you cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless driving between home, school and work

After you hold your Probationary License for two years and turn 18, you can get your regular Wisconsin Driver’s License.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in WI?

All Wisconsin drivers are required to have automobile insurance. Minimum coverage requirements are: $25,000 for injury or death of one person; $50,000 for injury or death of two or more people; and $10,000 for property damage.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You can renew your Wisconsin Driver’s License up to one year before it expires. The state will send you a renewal notice with instructions approximately 60 days before the expiration date, which is your birthday.

You can replace a lost or stolen license online, by mail or in person at a DMV customer service center.

Where can I renew my Wisconsin driver’s license?

You can renew your license in person at a DMV customer service center.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, you must pass a vision test when renewing your license. The Wisconsin DMV’s vision standard is 20/100 or better in at least one eye and a 20 degree horizontal field of vision.

If your vision is worse than the above set standard, you will be issued a Certificate of Vision Examination and referred to a licensed vision specialist.

How to Get Your Wisconsin Learner’s Permit in 2022

Are you ready to get your driver’s license in Wisconsin? Are you frustrated or confused because you don’t know where to begin? If so, our handy and easy-to-follow guide will help you through every step of the process, from passing your permit test to eventually earning unrestricted driving privileges.In Wisconsin, all young drivers are required to complete a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL), a multi-stage process that will allow you learn essential driving skills while remaining in a low-risk environment. Statistics have shown that GDL programs reduce the number of traffic accidents caused by inexperienced drivers.

In Wisconsin, the GDL process involves three steps:

  • Instruction Permit
  • Probationary License
  • Full License

This guide will demonstrate how to prepare for the Wisconsin permit test and move forward through the remaining stages of the GDL process.  Let’s get started!

Instruction Permit

Before you can apply for your Instruction Permit (or learner’s permit) in Wisconsin, you must be enrolled in a state-approved driver’s education course. When you have signed up, and you are at least 15 and a half years old, you are eligible to apply. To do so, you must pass a written knowledge test, which will check your awareness of the rules of the road, including your ability to recognize traffic signs.

The Wisconsin DMV Practice Test — What You Need to Know

Let’s talk about why you need your learner’s permit. Freedom, independence, travel, work, school, and family are all great reasons to get your permit and get mobile.   But before you can experience all the benefits that come with a permit, you’ll need to pass the Wisconsin permit test.  The written permit test is administered by Wisconsin’s Department of Transportation (DOT) and has questions designed to evaluate your knowledge of important traffic laws, traffic and road signs, and safe driving practices.

Study, Study, Study

We are happy to offer a free copy of the Wisconsin Motorist’s Handbook for you to use in your studies. Be sure to read each section carefully, devoting extra time to any chapters you don’t fully understand.

Take Practice Tests

Our Wisconsin practice permit test is a great resource. It contains many of the same subjects as the actual exam, and taking it should help you gauge your level of preparedness.

Visit the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (DOT) Offices and Take Your Test

When you feel prepared, visit the DOT offices, bringing along:

  • Proof of identification, including your birth certificate, U.S. passport and Social Security card.
  • Proof of Wisconsin residency, such as your parent’s utility bill or a school enrollment card.
  • A Driver License Application (Form MV3001), which has been signed by your parent or guardian.
  • Proof that you are enrolled in or have completed school.
  • $35 in fees.

Now, you will take the permit test. Stay calm and do your best. You have studied hard, and now it’s your time to shine! When you finish, you will be given a vision test to make sure you can see well enough to drive. If you wear glasses or contact lenses, make sure you have them with you.

Practice, Practice, Practice

Once you have your Instruction Permit, you can complete driver’s education and get to practicing. You must practice at least 30 hours while under the supervision of a licensed driver. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night. Record your practice hours using the Wisconsin Graduated Driver Licensing Supervised Driving Log (Form HS-303). The supervising driver will need to sign this form.

Probationary License

When you are 16 years old, you have held your instruction permit for six months without any traffic violations, you have completed driver’s education and completed your practice hours, you are ready to take the behind-the-wheel driving test and apply for your Probationary License.

When you are ready, visit the DOT offices, bringing along:

  • Your completed Driver License Application, signed by your parent or guardian.
  • The same identification and residency documents you used before.
  • A new document of proof to show that you are enrolled in school.
  • Form HS-303 to show that you completed your practice driving.
  • $28 in fees.

At this point, you will be given your road test, which will check how well you maintain control over your vehicle and pay attention to traffic laws. As long as you have been practicing, passing this test should be very easy. Don’t psych yourself out!

With your Probationary License, you must follow a few rules. During the first nine months, unless you are supervised by your parent or guardian, you may not:

  • Drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless driving between work, school and home.
  • Drive with more than one passenger except for immediate family members.

Driver’s License

When you are 19 years old and have held your Probationary License for at least two years, you qualify for a Full License. Visit the DOT offices, turn in your Probationary License, pass another vision exam and pay $28 in fees.

Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.

Additional Information

If you want to skip driver’s education, you must wait until you are 18 years old to apply for your Probationary License. You will then be able to get your Full License when you are 20 years old.

WI Manuals

The latest official WI state manuals