OR Practice Permit Test

Based on the 2022 OR DOT Manual

Permit Practice Tests (152 questions)

When you have an entire state that’s overflowing with recreational opportunities, attractions, national wonders and heritage, it serves you well to become a licensed driver. But before you can explore all that the Beaver State has to offer you will need to pass the DMV written test. Fortunately, we’ve created a powerful set of study tools to help ensure your success.  Our free Oregon DMV practice permit tests feature questions similar to the official DMV written exam.  Become familiar with the information in the drivers handbook and then test your knowledge with a few practice tests and before you know it, you will be one step closer to earning your license.

Oregon DMV Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your OR License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Oregon’s Teen Driver Program, which is designed to help first-time teen drivers become safe drivers and earn their unrestricted driver’s license, includes the following stages and age requirements:

  • Learner’s Permit – 15 years old
  • Provisional License – 16 years old
  • Unrestricted Driver’s License – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Oregon?

  • Form 735-173 (Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card)
  • Proof of school enrollment, completion or exemption
  • Proof of identity, date of birth, residency, legal presence and Social Security Number – here is a list of documents acceptable to submit as proof
  • $23.50 for Learner’s Permit fee and $5 for written test fee

Where do I file my OR driver’s license application?

You will file your application at a local Oregon DMV office.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/offices/index.aspx for office locations and contact information. You may even be able to check current office wait times.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

No, driver’s education is not required in Oregon. Taking a driver’s ed course can count toward part of your supervised driving requirements, however.

What if I am new to Oregon?

If you have an out-of-state license you will need to visit a local DMV office with proper identification to transfer your license to Oregon. You have 30 days to make the transfer.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

Test questions are drawn from the Oregon Driver’s Manual and cover road signs, traffic laws and other information a driver needs to know to safely operate a motor vehicle in the state. Here is sample content from the manual that could be tested for on the exam:

  • When on an interstate, drive at a steady speed so that you have less need to change lanes. Weaving through traffic increases the risk of a crash and seldom saves time. Try to keep pace with traffic on the road, but do not be lured into exceeding the posted speed to stay with the flow of traffic
  • Stop signs, yield signs, and traffic signals control the flow of traffic at busy intersections. A defensive driver never assumes a stop sign or a traffic signal will stop approaching traffic

How is the test formatted?

The Oregon test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, all questions are drawn from the Oregon Driver’s Manual and are designed to test your knowledge of traffic laws, road signs and safe driving procedures. If you study the manual sufficiently you should not find any of the questions to be “tricky.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 35 questions on the Oregon written test and you must answer at least 28 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Since all questions are drawn from the state driver’s manual it make sense that you should concentrate your study efforts on the manual itself. Be sure to read it several times. To assess your knowledge of the manual, take practice tests that will help you identify your strong areas as well as weak areas that you need to devote more study time to.

Where can I get a free Oregon Driver’s Manual to study?

Free Oregon Driver’s Manuals are available on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

When studying the Oregon Driver’s Manual try to memorize numerical data, such as measurements, lengths and distances. For example, you should know recommended following distances and stopping distances for various speeds. You should also carefully study the manual’s section on alcohol and drugs and their effects on driving safely. Take a practice test to assess your current understanding of Oregon’s driving laws.

What should I do the night before the test?

Ideally, by this point you should have studied the driver’s manual enough that you know it backward and forward. If so, you may want to take a few online practice tests to give yourself confidence and then retire early so that you are rested for the exam the next day.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local DMV office to see if appointments are accepted. If so, it is recommended that you make one.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local DMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Form 735-173 (Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card)
  • Proof of school enrollment, completion or exemption
  • Proof of identity, date of birth, residency, legal presence and Social Security Number – here is a list of documents acceptable to submit as proof
  • $23.50 for Learner’s Permit fee and $5 for written test fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

There is a $23.50 permit fee and a $5 written test fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test will consist of 35 questions cover traffic laws, road signs and safe driving methods. You can miss up to seven questions and still pass. When taking the test you cannot refer to any notes or the state driver’s manual.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin supervised driving practice. You will need to complete 100 hours of behind-the-wheel practice if you do not take driver’s ed and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice if you do take driver’s ed.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next day.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

Once you have earned your Learner’s Permit, you can begin supervised driving practice. During this time, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older whenever you are behind the wheel.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for your Provisional Driver’s License once you are 16 years of age, have held your Learner’s Permit for at least six months and have completed your required supervised driving practice.

Can I drive anywhere in Oregon with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, provided that you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older, you can drive on any public Oregon road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

Experts recommend that you also drive some at night to familiarize yourself with the different conditions.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What should I do if I have a lost Oregon Learner’s Permit?

To replace your permit, go to a local DMV office with proper identification. You will need to pay a $26.50 replacement fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

The best thing to do is to get as much driving practice as possible. That means both practicing maneuvers such as parking, backing up and making turns as well as driving in traffic, where you need to focus on obeying traffic signs and responding to drivers and pedestrians around you.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

You should be sure to practice turning right and left, making a three-point turn, backing in a straight line, parking on a hill, parallel parking, coming to a quick stop and accelerating under control.

How can I simulate the driving test?

The driving test will consist of both a maneuvers course and driving in traffic so be sure to practice both. For example, you can practice parking, stopping, backing and making turns in an empty parking lot. Then you can practice driving in traffic on area streets and roads. Even better, practice a few tiems on the same roads that you will be tested on so that you get familiar with them. Remember, when driving in traffic to drive defensively, which means using your mirrors, signaling and not following too closely.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local DMV office to schedule the test.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a DMV office or at an approved private third party tester.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Learner’s Permit
  • Proof of school enrollment, completion or exemption.
  • Proof of identity, date of birth, residency, legal presence and Social Security Number – here is a list of documents acceptable to submit as proof
  • $25 for driver’s license fee, $9 for driving test fee (if applicable)

You will also need to pass the safe driving practices written test. Also please note: you can present a driver’s education certificate of completion to have the driving test waived.

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the driving test, you will need to demonstrate your driving skills and knowledge of traffic rules, highway signs and signals. For example, you may need to complete the following maneuvers: turning, backing up, parking and lane changes. You will also need to show skill at speed control, signaling and vehicle control. The examiner will sit in the front seat and give you directions on what to do. After the test, the examiner will discuss the results with you.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Reasons for failure range from nerves to making too many errors to driving dangerously to being involved in a collision to not following the examiner’s instructions.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Driving with incorrect hand position on the steering wheel
  • Not coming to a complete stop
  • Going over the speed limit
  • Failing to signal when making a turn
  • Not backing up in a straight line

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

You must wait at least 28 days after each failed attempt. After your fifth failed attempt you will have to wait at least one year to retake the test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your provisional license.

What restrictions come with an Oregon license?

For the first 6 months:

  • You cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless for work or school or you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older
  • You cannot drive with a passenger under 20 unless he or she is an immediate family member

For the second 6 months:

  • You cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m., unless for work or school or you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older
  • You cannot drive with more than 3 passengers under 20 unless they are immediate family members

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in OR?

Oregon residents are required to carry both property damage and bodily injury insurance coverage. Minimum coverage requirements are: $25,000/$50,000/$20,000. This means that in the event of an accident, your limits for bodily injury are $25,000 per person, with a total maximum of $50,000 per incident. You are also covered for up to $20,000 in damage to another person’s property.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Your Oregon Driver’s License is valid for a period of eight years and you can renew it up to 14 months before the expiration date. The Oregon DMV will send a renewal reminder approximately 60 days before your expiration date.

To replace a lost or stolen license, go to a local DMV office with proper identification. You will need to pay a $26.50 replacement fee.

Where can I renew my Oregon driver’s license?

You must renew your license at a local DMV office. You will need proper identification. You will also need to pay a $40 fee. You may also have to take a vision test if you are over 50. If your license has been expired for over one year you may need to take the written and driving tests as well.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

If you are over the age of 50, you will be required to take a vision test. The test confirms you can see well enough to drive safely. If you take the test while wearing glasses or contact lenses, your driver’s license will indicate that corrective lenses are required. If you do not pass the vision test, the DMV will give you a form to take to a licensed vision specialist.

How to Get Your Oregon Learner’s Permit in 2022

Passing the permit test is an important first step towards getting learners permit.  Oregon, like most other states, requires that all young drivers go through a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) before they receive full driving privileges. The GDL is a multi-stage process that helps you to learn important driving skills while remaining under the supervision of a licensed driver. GDL programs have been shown to reduce accidents that occur due to a lack of experience on the road.

The Oregon GDL process includes three stages:

  • Provisional Instruction Permit
  • Provisional License
  • Full License

In this article, we will show you how to pass the Oregon permit test and finish the other stages of the GDL process so that you can go on to receive full driving privileges.

Provisional Instruction Permit

When you are 15 years old, you can apply for your Provisional Instruction Permit (or learner’s permit) in the state of Oregon. You must first pass a written knowledge test (permit test), which will check your awareness of traffic law, signs and signals.

The Oregon DMV Test — What You Need to Know

The Oregon permit test is the only thing standing between you and your learners permit.  Getting your learners permit is an important moment as it represents a new level of freedom and independence.

The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for administering the permit test and issuing your learners permit. More commonly known as the Oregon permit test, this written test will determine if you have the required knowledge to be a safe and courteous driver.  The test is a multiple-choice test that has a series of questions covering the rules of the road, Oregon traffic laws, and a variety of road signs.

Study as Hard as Possible

No one ever did well on a test without studying first, so if you want to pass the permit test on the first try, you will have to devote some time to preparing. We offer a free copy of the Oregon Driver’s Manual for you to use in your studies. Be sure to read the entire book, and spend extra time on any subjects you are confused about.

Begin Practicing With OR DMV Practice Permit Tests

With statistics revealing that roughly 70% of test takers fail the exam every year, it’s proven itself to be a real challenge for the unprepared.  Why just show up and “wing it” only to have to leave the DMV office empty-handed.  A failed test means having to reschedule and take the test all over again and in some cases pay a retest fee.  Who has time for that?

Fortunately, we have some good news!  We put together an impressive collection of study material to help you effectively prepare for the test.  We have you covered!

The official Oregon Driver’s Handbook is a great reference and when used in tandem with the practice tests can prove to be a solid resource. We also offer handbook and practice tests if you are looking to get your motorcycle permit.

Start preparing now by becoming familiar with our free Oregon practice permit test.  The practice test will provide you with the feedback you need while giving you a feel for the real test format. Our practice tests are one of the best-possible resources for study. It includes much of the same subject matter you will see on the real test, and taking it will increase your chances of doing well. It will also show you how prepared you are and help you avoid wasting your time failing a test you aren’t ready for.

Visit the Oregon Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Offices and Take Your Tests

When you feel your studies have prepared you, visit the ODOT offices, bringing along:

  • Your completed Driver License Application (your parent or guardian must sign).
  • Your Social Security card, birth certificate or other identifying documents.
  • Proof that you are enrolled in or have completed school.
  • Proof of your Oregon residency (school enrollment card, utility bill, bank statement).
  • $28.50 in testing and license fees.

At this point, you will be given the permit test. Try to stay calm and think about the information you studied. As long as you devoted plenty of time to preparing, you should do well. When you pass, you will be given a simple vision test, and your picture will be taken for your license.

Start Practicing Your Driving

While holding your Provisional Instruction Permit, you are required to complete 50 hours of supervised practice driving and a ODOT-approved traffic safety education course. If you would prefer to skip the course, you can do 100 hours of supervised practice driving instead. When you have finished these requirements, you can move on to the next stage in the GDL process.

Oregon Provisional License

When you are 16 years old, you have held your permit for at least six months, and you have completed your practice and education requirements, you are ready to take your behind-the-wheel driving test, safe driving practices test and another vision exam.

When you’re ready, visit the ODOT offices and bring along:

  • Your Provisional Instruction Permit.
  • The same identification and residency documents you used before.
  • Proof that you are enrolled in or have completed school.
  • Proof that you completed your practice driving and/or ODOT-approved traffic class.
  • Your signed and completed Driver License Application.
  • A registered and insured vehicle to use for the test.
  • $69 in testing and license fees.

At this point, you will be given a behind-the-wheel driving test and a safe driving practices test, both of which will determine how well you know the rules of the road. Stay calm and do your best. You have studied and practiced hard, and now your work will pay off. When you pass both tests, you will be given another vision exam. From there, you will be given your Provisional License.

The Provisional License comes with a few limitations. Unless accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian, you may not:

  • Drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless for work or school.
  • Drive with any unrelated passengers who are under the age of 20 (first six months).
  • Drive with more than three unrelated passengers who are under the age of 20 (second six months).
  • Drive without safety belts or with passengers who aren’t wearing their safety belts.

Driver’s License

When you are 17 years old and have held your Provisional License for a full year, the restrictions will be removed and you will be allowed to drive whenever and with whomever you choose. Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.

Additional Information

If you want to skip the GDL process in Oregon, you will have to wait until you are 18 years old to apply. At that point, you will need to take all of the above-mentioned tests to be given an unrestricted license.

Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)

When you have an entire state that’s overflowing with recreational opportunities, attractions, national wonders and heritage, it serves you well to become a licensed driver. But before you can explore all that the Beaver State has to offer you will need to pass the DMV written test. Fortunately, we’ve created a powerful set of study tools to help ensure your success.  Our free Oregon DMV practice permit tests feature questions similar to the official DMV written exam.  Become familiar with the information in the drivers handbook and then test your knowledge with a few practice tests and before you know it, you will be one step closer to earning your license.

Oregon DMV Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your OR License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Oregon’s Teen Driver Program, which is designed to help first-time teen drivers become safe drivers and earn their unrestricted driver’s license, includes the following stages and age requirements:

  • Learner’s Permit – 15 years old
  • Provisional License – 16 years old
  • Unrestricted Driver’s License – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Oregon?

  • Form 735-173 (Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card)
  • Proof of school enrollment, completion or exemption
  • Proof of identity, date of birth, residency, legal presence and Social Security Number – here is a list of documents acceptable to submit as proof
  • $23.50 for Learner’s Permit fee and $5 for written test fee

Where do I file my OR driver’s license application?

You will file your application at a local Oregon DMV office.

How can I contact my local office?

Visit https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/offices/index.aspx for office locations and contact information. You may even be able to check current office wait times.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

No, driver’s education is not required in Oregon. Taking a driver’s ed course can count toward part of your supervised driving requirements, however.

What if I am new to Oregon?

If you have an out-of-state license you will need to visit a local DMV office with proper identification to transfer your license to Oregon. You have 30 days to make the transfer.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

Test questions are drawn from the Oregon Driver’s Manual and cover road signs, traffic laws and other information a driver needs to know to safely operate a motor vehicle in the state. Here is sample content from the manual that could be tested for on the exam:

  • When on an interstate, drive at a steady speed so that you have less need to change lanes. Weaving through traffic increases the risk of a crash and seldom saves time. Try to keep pace with traffic on the road, but do not be lured into exceeding the posted speed to stay with the flow of traffic
  • Stop signs, yield signs, and traffic signals control the flow of traffic at busy intersections. A defensive driver never assumes a stop sign or a traffic signal will stop approaching traffic

How is the test formatted?

The Oregon test is multiple choice.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, all questions are drawn from the Oregon Driver’s Manual and are designed to test your knowledge of traffic laws, road signs and safe driving procedures. If you study the manual sufficiently you should not find any of the questions to be “tricky.”

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 35 questions on the Oregon written test and you must answer at least 28 of them correctly to pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Since all questions are drawn from the state driver’s manual it make sense that you should concentrate your study efforts on the manual itself. Be sure to read it several times. To assess your knowledge of the manual, take practice tests that will help you identify your strong areas as well as weak areas that you need to devote more study time to.

Where can I get a free Oregon Driver’s Manual to study?

Free Oregon Driver’s Manuals are available on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

When studying the Oregon Driver’s Manual try to memorize numerical data, such as measurements, lengths and distances. For example, you should know recommended following distances and stopping distances for various speeds. You should also carefully study the manual’s section on alcohol and drugs and their effects on driving safely. Take a practice test to assess your current understanding of Oregon’s driving laws.

What should I do the night before the test?

Ideally, by this point you should have studied the driver’s manual enough that you know it backward and forward. If so, you may want to take a few online practice tests to give yourself confidence and then retire early so that you are rested for the exam the next day.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Contact your local DMV office to see if appointments are accepted. If so, it is recommended that you make one.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at a local DMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Form 735-173 (Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card)
  • Proof of school enrollment, completion or exemption
  • Proof of identity, date of birth, residency, legal presence and Social Security Number – here is a list of documents acceptable to submit as proof
  • $23.50 for Learner’s Permit fee and $5 for written test fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

There is a $23.50 permit fee and a $5 written test fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test will consist of 35 questions cover traffic laws, road signs and safe driving methods. You can miss up to seven questions and still pass. When taking the test you cannot refer to any notes or the state driver’s manual.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin supervised driving practice. You will need to complete 100 hours of behind-the-wheel practice if you do not take driver’s ed and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice if you do take driver’s ed.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the written test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next day.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

Once you have earned your Learner’s Permit, you can begin supervised driving practice. During this time, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older whenever you are behind the wheel.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You can apply for your Provisional Driver’s License once you are 16 years of age, have held your Learner’s Permit for at least six months and have completed your required supervised driving practice.

Can I drive anywhere in Oregon with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, provided that you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older, you can drive on any public Oregon road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

Experts recommend that you also drive some at night to familiarize yourself with the different conditions.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What should I do if I have a lost Oregon Learner’s Permit?

To replace your permit, go to a local DMV office with proper identification. You will need to pay a $26.50 replacement fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

The best thing to do is to get as much driving practice as possible. That means both practicing maneuvers such as parking, backing up and making turns as well as driving in traffic, where you need to focus on obeying traffic signs and responding to drivers and pedestrians around you.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

You should be sure to practice turning right and left, making a three-point turn, backing in a straight line, parking on a hill, parallel parking, coming to a quick stop and accelerating under control.

How can I simulate the driving test?

The driving test will consist of both a maneuvers course and driving in traffic so be sure to practice both. For example, you can practice parking, stopping, backing and making turns in an empty parking lot. Then you can practice driving in traffic on area streets and roads. Even better, practice a few tiems on the same roads that you will be tested on so that you get familiar with them. Remember, when driving in traffic to drive defensively, which means using your mirrors, signaling and not following too closely.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact your local DMV office to schedule the test.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a DMV office or at an approved private third party tester.

What should I bring to the driving test?

  • Learner’s Permit
  • Proof of school enrollment, completion or exemption.
  • Proof of identity, date of birth, residency, legal presence and Social Security Number – here is a list of documents acceptable to submit as proof
  • $25 for driver’s license fee, $9 for driving test fee (if applicable)

You will also need to pass the safe driving practices written test. Also please note: you can present a driver’s education certificate of completion to have the driving test waived.

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A licensed parent or legal guardian should bring you.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

During the driving test, you will need to demonstrate your driving skills and knowledge of traffic rules, highway signs and signals. For example, you may need to complete the following maneuvers: turning, backing up, parking and lane changes. You will also need to show skill at speed control, signaling and vehicle control. The examiner will sit in the front seat and give you directions on what to do. After the test, the examiner will discuss the results with you.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

Reasons for failure range from nerves to making too many errors to driving dangerously to being involved in a collision to not following the examiner’s instructions.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Driving with incorrect hand position on the steering wheel
  • Not coming to a complete stop
  • Going over the speed limit
  • Failing to signal when making a turn
  • Not backing up in a straight line

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test.

How soon can I retake the test if I failed?

You must wait at least 28 days after each failed attempt. After your fifth failed attempt you will have to wait at least one year to retake the test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your provisional license.

What restrictions come with an Oregon license?

For the first 6 months:

  • You cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless for work or school or you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older
  • You cannot drive with a passenger under 20 unless he or she is an immediate family member

For the second 6 months:

  • You cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m., unless for work or school or you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older
  • You cannot drive with more than 3 passengers under 20 unless they are immediate family members

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in OR?

Oregon residents are required to carry both property damage and bodily injury insurance coverage. Minimum coverage requirements are: $25,000/$50,000/$20,000. This means that in the event of an accident, your limits for bodily injury are $25,000 per person, with a total maximum of $50,000 per incident. You are also covered for up to $20,000 in damage to another person’s property.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Your Oregon Driver’s License is valid for a period of eight years and you can renew it up to 14 months before the expiration date. The Oregon DMV will send a renewal reminder approximately 60 days before your expiration date.

To replace a lost or stolen license, go to a local DMV office with proper identification. You will need to pay a $26.50 replacement fee.

Where can I renew my Oregon driver’s license?

You must renew your license at a local DMV office. You will need proper identification. You will also need to pay a $40 fee. You may also have to take a vision test if you are over 50. If your license has been expired for over one year you may need to take the written and driving tests as well.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

If you are over the age of 50, you will be required to take a vision test. The test confirms you can see well enough to drive safely. If you take the test while wearing glasses or contact lenses, your driver’s license will indicate that corrective lenses are required. If you do not pass the vision test, the DMV will give you a form to take to a licensed vision specialist.

How to Get Your Oregon Learner’s Permit in 2022

Passing the permit test is an important first step towards getting learners permit.  Oregon, like most other states, requires that all young drivers go through a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) before they receive full driving privileges. The GDL is a multi-stage process that helps you to learn important driving skills while remaining under the supervision of a licensed driver. GDL programs have been shown to reduce accidents that occur due to a lack of experience on the road.

The Oregon GDL process includes three stages:

  • Provisional Instruction Permit
  • Provisional License
  • Full License

In this article, we will show you how to pass the Oregon permit test and finish the other stages of the GDL process so that you can go on to receive full driving privileges.

Provisional Instruction Permit

When you are 15 years old, you can apply for your Provisional Instruction Permit (or learner’s permit) in the state of Oregon. You must first pass a written knowledge test (permit test), which will check your awareness of traffic law, signs and signals.

The Oregon DMV Test — What You Need to Know

The Oregon permit test is the only thing standing between you and your learners permit.  Getting your learners permit is an important moment as it represents a new level of freedom and independence.

The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for administering the permit test and issuing your learners permit. More commonly known as the Oregon permit test, this written test will determine if you have the required knowledge to be a safe and courteous driver.  The test is a multiple-choice test that has a series of questions covering the rules of the road, Oregon traffic laws, and a variety of road signs.

Study as Hard as Possible

No one ever did well on a test without studying first, so if you want to pass the permit test on the first try, you will have to devote some time to preparing. We offer a free copy of the Oregon Driver’s Manual for you to use in your studies. Be sure to read the entire book, and spend extra time on any subjects you are confused about.

Begin Practicing With OR DMV Practice Permit Tests

With statistics revealing that roughly 70% of test takers fail the exam every year, it’s proven itself to be a real challenge for the unprepared.  Why just show up and “wing it” only to have to leave the DMV office empty-handed.  A failed test means having to reschedule and take the test all over again and in some cases pay a retest fee.  Who has time for that?

Fortunately, we have some good news!  We put together an impressive collection of study material to help you effectively prepare for the test.  We have you covered!

The official Oregon Driver’s Handbook is a great reference and when used in tandem with the practice tests can prove to be a solid resource. We also offer handbook and practice tests if you are looking to get your motorcycle permit.

Start preparing now by becoming familiar with our free Oregon practice permit test.  The practice test will provide you with the feedback you need while giving you a feel for the real test format. Our practice tests are one of the best-possible resources for study. It includes much of the same subject matter you will see on the real test, and taking it will increase your chances of doing well. It will also show you how prepared you are and help you avoid wasting your time failing a test you aren’t ready for.

Visit the Oregon Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Offices and Take Your Tests

When you feel your studies have prepared you, visit the ODOT offices, bringing along:

  • Your completed Driver License Application (your parent or guardian must sign).
  • Your Social Security card, birth certificate or other identifying documents.
  • Proof that you are enrolled in or have completed school.
  • Proof of your Oregon residency (school enrollment card, utility bill, bank statement).
  • $28.50 in testing and license fees.

At this point, you will be given the permit test. Try to stay calm and think about the information you studied. As long as you devoted plenty of time to preparing, you should do well. When you pass, you will be given a simple vision test, and your picture will be taken for your license.

Start Practicing Your Driving

While holding your Provisional Instruction Permit, you are required to complete 50 hours of supervised practice driving and a ODOT-approved traffic safety education course. If you would prefer to skip the course, you can do 100 hours of supervised practice driving instead. When you have finished these requirements, you can move on to the next stage in the GDL process.

Oregon Provisional License

When you are 16 years old, you have held your permit for at least six months, and you have completed your practice and education requirements, you are ready to take your behind-the-wheel driving test, safe driving practices test and another vision exam.

When you’re ready, visit the ODOT offices and bring along:

  • Your Provisional Instruction Permit.
  • The same identification and residency documents you used before.
  • Proof that you are enrolled in or have completed school.
  • Proof that you completed your practice driving and/or ODOT-approved traffic class.
  • Your signed and completed Driver License Application.
  • A registered and insured vehicle to use for the test.
  • $69 in testing and license fees.

At this point, you will be given a behind-the-wheel driving test and a safe driving practices test, both of which will determine how well you know the rules of the road. Stay calm and do your best. You have studied and practiced hard, and now your work will pay off. When you pass both tests, you will be given another vision exam. From there, you will be given your Provisional License.

The Provisional License comes with a few limitations. Unless accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian, you may not:

  • Drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless for work or school.
  • Drive with any unrelated passengers who are under the age of 20 (first six months).
  • Drive with more than three unrelated passengers who are under the age of 20 (second six months).
  • Drive without safety belts or with passengers who aren’t wearing their safety belts.

Driver’s License

When you are 17 years old and have held your Provisional License for a full year, the restrictions will be removed and you will be allowed to drive whenever and with whomever you choose. Congratulations! You are now a fully licensed driver.

Additional Information

If you want to skip the GDL process in Oregon, you will have to wait until you are 18 years old to apply. At that point, you will need to take all of the above-mentioned tests to be given an unrestricted license.

OR Manuals

The latest official OR state manuals