FL Practice Permit Test

Based on the 2022 FL DMV Manual

Permit Practice Tests (149 questions)

1,350 miles of inviting coastline, popular tourist attractions, and ample scenic roads lined with palms trees; it’s no wonder why drivers are anxious to get behind the wheel in the Sunshine State.  Maybe you’re getting ready to apply for your learners permit, drivers license, or perhaps you need to renew your license. Regardless, all residents of Florida looking to become licensed drivers must first pass the required state written knowledge test which is why we’ve assembled a powerful group of study tools from practice tests to study guides.  Take the next step towards preparing for the written test now.

Florida Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your FL License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Florida, like many states, has instituted a Graduated Driving Licensing Program (GDL) in an effort to minimize the risks associated with being a first-time driver.

Milestones and age requirements for the program are as follows:

  • 15 years old – Learner’s Permit
  • 16-17 years old – Intermediate or provisional license
  • 18 years old – Full privilege driver’s license

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Florida?

When applying for a Learner’s Permit you need:

  • Form HSMV 71142 (Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor)
  • Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate
  • Social Security Number, such as your Social Security Card
  • Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course Completion Certificate or out-of-state learner’s permit.
  • Proof of residential address.

Here is a complete list of acceptable documents.

For your provisional license you need:

  • Your Florida or out-of-state Learner’s permit
  • Road test waiver from Driver’s Ed course is applicable
  • Certification that you completed the required behind-the-wheel training hours

At 18 years of age, your provisional license becomes a full, unrestricted license.

Where do I file my FL driver’s license application?

At your local office of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

How can I contact my local office?

You may call the DHSMV customer service center at (850) 617-2000. You can visit the department website at https://www.flhsmv.gov/locations/.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, all first-time drivers in Florida are required by state law to complete a driver’s education course prior to receiving their license.

What if I am New to Florida?

You can transfer an out-of-state Learner’s Permit or Provisional License to a Florida Learner’s Permit or Provisional License. If you have an out-of-state Driver’s License you can transfer it to a Florida license without taking a written test or a driving test.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Florida permit test asks questions on traffic laws, road signs and safe driving techniques that are covered in the state driver’s manual. Here are examples of manual content that may be tested for on the exam:

  • If you are convicted of, or plead no contest, to three traffic offenses that cause crashes within 36 months, you must complete a DHSMV approved driver improvement course that includes behind-the-wheel training and an assessment of your driving safety
  • If your vehicle starts skidding, take your foot off the gas pedal. Do not use your brakes, if possible. Turn the vehicle’s front tires in the direction you want to go (steer in the direction of the skid).

How is the test formatted?

The Florida written test is a multiple choice test.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, questions on the Florida written test come from the state driver’s manual. Obviously, some questions may be more difficult than others. Study your manual thoroughly.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

The Florida test has a total of 50 questions divided into two sections.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

First, study your Florida driver’s manual. This handy book is filled with valuable driving information and state rules of the road. You should also take practice tests online to assess your knowledge and identify areas where you should focus more of your study efforts. Take a practice test.

Where can I get a free Florida Driver’s Manual to study?

Download a free copy of the Florida Driver’s Manual right here on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

There’s no substitute for hard work. Study the Florida Driver’s Manual thoroughly and apply the rules you learn to when you practice driving. You should also take practice tests to test your knowledge and get more familiar with the format of the real test. Take a practice test now.

What should I do the night before the test?

Get a good night’s sleep! Being fully rested for the test will ensure your brain is functioning at top capacity. You can still do some light review of the Florida Driver’s Manual and take a practice test or two but be sure to get to bed early. Also, be sure to give yourself plenty of time to reach the DHSMV office before your test so you are not rushed or stressed.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

It is recommended that you make an appointment to avoid long wait times at the DHSMV office.

Where do I take the written test?

The test will be given to you at your local DHSMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

You need to bring the following:

  • Form HSMV 71142 (Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor)
  • Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate
  • Social Security Number, such as your Social Security Card
  • Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course Completion Certificate or out-of-state learner’s permit.
  • Proof of residential address.

Here is a complete list of acceptable documents.

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $48 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test includes 50 questions divided into two sections. One section covers the rules of the road. The other section covers road signs. You must answer at least 40 of the 50 questions correctly in order to pass. Take a practice test formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin logging your required 50 hours of driving practice that are needed to receive your provisional license.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test when you are ready.

Is there a fee to retake the test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $10 fee each time you retake it.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

First, you will need to complete 50 hours of behind the wheel training. During the first three months you can only drive during daylight hours. After the first three months you can drive until 10 p.m. When you have your learner’s permit you can only drive when accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You must have had your Learner’s Permit for one year without incident. You must also be at least 16 years of age.

Can I drive anywhere in Florida with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, provided you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

During the first three months of having your Learner’s Permit you can only drive during the daytime. After that you can drive until 10 p.m.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied at all times by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.

What should I do if I have a lost Florida Learner’s Permit?

In the event of a lost learner’s permit, you can replace it online or at the DHSMV office. The replacement fee is $25. You should also be prepared to show your identification documents like you did when you first obtained the permit.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Practice driving as much as you can. Also be sure to read the state rules of the road and use them during your driving practice.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Practice turns, parking, driving with other traffic, defensive driving, starting and stopping.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Talk to friends and relatives who have taken the test and practice the maneuvers they say are on the test – for example, most driving tests include 3-point turns, stopping, starting changing lanes, proper signaling, parking and more.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact the local DHSMV office or go online.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at the local DHSMV office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

You should bring:

  • Your Florida or out-of-state Learner’s permit
  • Road test waiver from Driver’s Ed course is applicable
  • Certification that you completed the required behind-the-wheel training hours
  • A vehicle
  • Vehicle registration and proof of insurance

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A parent or legal guardian should bring you if you are under 18 years of age.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

You will be asked to demonstrate a high enough level of driving skill to not be considered a danger to yourself or others when behind the wheel. This means you should be able to drive in traffic, safely navigate roadways and make turns, stops and other maneuvers.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

There are several reasons a new driver may fail the test, including nerves, insufficient practice or a lack of driving knowledge. The best way to ensure you don’t fail is to study your driver’s handbook, take practice tests and practice driving as much as you can.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Being nervous and paying more attention to the examiner than to the road in front of you
  • Failing to signal when turning
  • Failing to check your mirrors when changing lanes
  • Failing to come to a complete stop
  • Going over the speed limit

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test when you are ready.

How many times can I retake the test?

You can take the test five times in a one-year period. If you fail all five attempts you will have to request approval from the Bureau of Administrative Review (BAR) to take a sixth test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your provisional license which will allow you to drive unsupervised between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. if you are 16 years old and between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. if you are 17 years of age.

What restrictions come with a Florida license?

If you are 16 years old, you can only drive unsupervised between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. If you are 17 years old you can only drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

Regardless of your age, you can drive anytime if you are supervised by a licensed driver 21 years old or older or you are going to or from work.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in FL?

If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are registering it, you must at least meet Florida’s minimum insurance requirements.

The minimum requirements are $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate.

PIP insurance, also called Florida No Fault Insurance, covers you regardless of fault (i.e. whether or not you cause the crash) – up to the limits of your policy.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You can renew a license online, in person or by mail. There is a $15 fee to renew an expired license.

You can replace a lost or stolen license online or in person. If you are a non-US citizen, you must apply in person.

Where can I renew my Florida driver’s license?

If renewing in person, you must do so at the local DHSMV office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

At certain points during your life span you will be required to take the vision test. You will not have to take it each time you renew your license.

The Florida vision test requires you to meet or exceed the following vision standards:

  • 20/40 or better vision in each eye with or without corrective lenses meets state requirements without referral to an eye specialist
  • 20/50 or worse vision in either eye with or without corrective lenses are referred to an eye specialist for possible improvement
  • 20/70 vision in either eye, or both eyes together may pass after referral to an eye specialist, providing the vision in the worst eye is better than 20/200
Need help preparing for your Florida permit test? Let this handy guide walk you through each step from permit to license.  Becoming a fully licensed driver in Florida means not only passing the Florida permit test but also understanding the state’s Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL). The GDL was designed to help you become comfortable with your time behind the wheel as well as ensure you have a solid understanding of the rules of the road before you earn your unrestricted driving privileges.In the state of Florida, the GDL process means obtaining:

  • A Learner’s License.
  • An Operator’s License (restricted).
  • An unrestricted Operator’s License.

In this guide, we will help you understand how to pass the Florida permit test and go on to receive your full, unrestricted Operator’s License.

Learner’s License

When you are 15 years old, you can enroll in a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course, which is a requirement in the state of Florida. Once you take this class, you can apply for your Learner’s License(or learner’s permit), which will allow you to practice driving during daylight hours with a licensed driver age 21 or above in the passenger seat.

To receive your permit, you must pass a knowledge test (also known as the permit test) that will show how well you know the rules of the road as well as different traffic signs and signals.

The Florida DMV Test — What You Need to Know

Obtaining your Florida learner’s license is an important achievement. Not only does it takes you one-step closer to actually getting your driver’s license but it also provides a new level of freedom, mobility, and independence. But before you can get your learner’s license, you will need to pass the Florida permit test.

Florida’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for administering the test and issuing both permit and licenses. The Florida permit test contains questions on the rules of the road, various road signs, rules for safety, and state specific traffic laws.

Make Time to Study

Study as often as you can. We offer a free copy of the Florida Driver’s Handbook, and you can get a physical copy at your local Florida DMV office.

Pass Your Written Test With FL DMV Practice Permit Tests

Most people don’t prepare properly for the permit test. And perhaps that’s why statistics reveal the majority of people fail to pass it. Passing the test is simply the result of preparing with the right tools.

With the study-resources we’ve put together on this page, you can confidently begin preparing for a passing score. Here, you’ll find powerful tools, including our free Florida practice permit test as well as a copy of the official Florida Driver Handbook. Interested in getting a motorcycle permit? You’ll find valuable resources to help you tackle that exam too.

Do Your Testing

Check That You Have the Required Materials and Do Your Testing

In Florida, you have the option of taking your knowledge test online. There is only one authorized provider: the American Safety Council. To take your test online, your parent or guardian must agree to supervise you and sign a notarize document attesting to it.

If you choose to do your testing in person, head for your local DMV office, bringing along:

  • Your parent or guardian.
  • Proof that you passed your required courses.
  • Proof of Residency.
  • Your Social Security card.
  • Your certified birth certificate and one secondary identification.

Try to relax as you take your exam. You’ve studied hard for this, and now is your moment to shine. After you pass, you will need to take a simple vision and hearing test. In the state of Florida, 20/40 or better vision is required to drive.

Begin Your Practice

While holding your Learner’s License, you must practice 50 hours with your parent or guardian supervising you. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night. You don’t have to take a driver’s education course during this time, but if you do, you will not have to take a behind-the-wheel test later.

Operator’s License (limited)

After you have your Learner’s License for one year, you can apply for your Operator’s License.

When you are ready, visit the DMV, bringing along:

  • A certification signed by your parent or guardian stating that you completed your practice hours.
  • Proof that you passed your driver’s education course if you took one.

If you didn’t take a course, you will need to pass a behind-the-wheel test before you can receive your license. The fees you already paid cover this test, but if you fail, there is a $10 fee for retesting.

When you get your Operator’s license, be aware that it comes with some limitations that change as time goes on.

  • At age 16, you may only drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.
  • At age 17, you may only drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

Note: There is an exception for driving to and from employment, and you can always drive with a licensed driver age 21 or above in the passenger seat.

Unrestricted Florida Operator’s License

When you are 18 years old, all of the restrictions are automatically removed and you can carry on as a fully licensed driver.

Additional Information

If you’re moving to Florida from another state, you will still have to go through the GDL process, regardless of whether or not you have a current driver’s license. However, if you have held that license for at least one year, and you take the required Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course, you will be able to skip the Learner’s License and go straight to the Operator’s License after passing all of the required tests.

Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)

1,350 miles of inviting coastline, popular tourist attractions, and ample scenic roads lined with palms trees; it’s no wonder why drivers are anxious to get behind the wheel in the Sunshine State.  Maybe you’re getting ready to apply for your learners permit, drivers license, or perhaps you need to renew your license. Regardless, all residents of Florida looking to become licensed drivers must first pass the required state written knowledge test which is why we’ve assembled a powerful group of study tools from practice tests to study guides.  Take the next step towards preparing for the written test now.

Florida Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your FL License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Florida, like many states, has instituted a Graduated Driving Licensing Program (GDL) in an effort to minimize the risks associated with being a first-time driver.

Milestones and age requirements for the program are as follows:

  • 15 years old – Learner’s Permit
  • 16-17 years old – Intermediate or provisional license
  • 18 years old – Full privilege driver’s license

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Florida?

When applying for a Learner’s Permit you need:

  • Form HSMV 71142 (Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor)
  • Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate
  • Social Security Number, such as your Social Security Card
  • Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course Completion Certificate or out-of-state learner’s permit.
  • Proof of residential address.

Here is a complete list of acceptable documents.

For your provisional license you need:

  • Your Florida or out-of-state Learner’s permit
  • Road test waiver from Driver’s Ed course is applicable
  • Certification that you completed the required behind-the-wheel training hours

At 18 years of age, your provisional license becomes a full, unrestricted license.

Where do I file my FL driver’s license application?

At your local office of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

How can I contact my local office?

You may call the DHSMV customer service center at (850) 617-2000. You can visit the department website at https://www.flhsmv.gov/locations/.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, all first-time drivers in Florida are required by state law to complete a driver’s education course prior to receiving their license.

What if I am New to Florida?

You can transfer an out-of-state Learner’s Permit or Provisional License to a Florida Learner’s Permit or Provisional License. If you have an out-of-state Driver’s License you can transfer it to a Florida license without taking a written test or a driving test.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Florida permit test asks questions on traffic laws, road signs and safe driving techniques that are covered in the state driver’s manual. Here are examples of manual content that may be tested for on the exam:

  • If you are convicted of, or plead no contest, to three traffic offenses that cause crashes within 36 months, you must complete a DHSMV approved driver improvement course that includes behind-the-wheel training and an assessment of your driving safety
  • If your vehicle starts skidding, take your foot off the gas pedal. Do not use your brakes, if possible. Turn the vehicle’s front tires in the direction you want to go (steer in the direction of the skid).

How is the test formatted?

The Florida written test is a multiple choice test.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, questions on the Florida written test come from the state driver’s manual. Obviously, some questions may be more difficult than others. Study your manual thoroughly.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

The Florida test has a total of 50 questions divided into two sections.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

First, study your Florida driver’s manual. This handy book is filled with valuable driving information and state rules of the road. You should also take practice tests online to assess your knowledge and identify areas where you should focus more of your study efforts. Take a practice test.

Where can I get a free Florida Driver’s Manual to study?

Download a free copy of the Florida Driver’s Manual right here on this website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

There’s no substitute for hard work. Study the Florida Driver’s Manual thoroughly and apply the rules you learn to when you practice driving. You should also take practice tests to test your knowledge and get more familiar with the format of the real test. Take a practice test now.

What should I do the night before the test?

Get a good night’s sleep! Being fully rested for the test will ensure your brain is functioning at top capacity. You can still do some light review of the Florida Driver’s Manual and take a practice test or two but be sure to get to bed early. Also, be sure to give yourself plenty of time to reach the DHSMV office before your test so you are not rushed or stressed.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

It is recommended that you make an appointment to avoid long wait times at the DHSMV office.

Where do I take the written test?

The test will be given to you at your local DHSMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

You need to bring the following:

  • Form HSMV 71142 (Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor)
  • Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate
  • Social Security Number, such as your Social Security Card
  • Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course Completion Certificate or out-of-state learner’s permit.
  • Proof of residential address.

Here is a complete list of acceptable documents.

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $48 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test includes 50 questions divided into two sections. One section covers the rules of the road. The other section covers road signs. You must answer at least 40 of the 50 questions correctly in order to pass. Take a practice test formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will receive your Learner’s Permit and can begin logging your required 50 hours of driving practice that are needed to receive your provisional license.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test when you are ready.

Is there a fee to retake the test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $10 fee each time you retake it.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

First, you will need to complete 50 hours of behind the wheel training. During the first three months you can only drive during daylight hours. After the first three months you can drive until 10 p.m. When you have your learner’s permit you can only drive when accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

You must have had your Learner’s Permit for one year without incident. You must also be at least 16 years of age.

Can I drive anywhere in Florida with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, provided you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

During the first three months of having your Learner’s Permit you can only drive during the daytime. After that you can drive until 10 p.m.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied at all times by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.

What should I do if I have a lost Florida Learner’s Permit?

In the event of a lost learner’s permit, you can replace it online or at the DHSMV office. The replacement fee is $25. You should also be prepared to show your identification documents like you did when you first obtained the permit.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Practice driving as much as you can. Also be sure to read the state rules of the road and use them during your driving practice.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Practice turns, parking, driving with other traffic, defensive driving, starting and stopping.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Talk to friends and relatives who have taken the test and practice the maneuvers they say are on the test – for example, most driving tests include 3-point turns, stopping, starting changing lanes, proper signaling, parking and more.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact the local DHSMV office or go online.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at the local DHSMV office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

You should bring:

  • Your Florida or out-of-state Learner’s permit
  • Road test waiver from Driver’s Ed course is applicable
  • Certification that you completed the required behind-the-wheel training hours
  • A vehicle
  • Vehicle registration and proof of insurance

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A parent or legal guardian should bring you if you are under 18 years of age.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

You will be asked to demonstrate a high enough level of driving skill to not be considered a danger to yourself or others when behind the wheel. This means you should be able to drive in traffic, safely navigate roadways and make turns, stops and other maneuvers.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

There are several reasons a new driver may fail the test, including nerves, insufficient practice or a lack of driving knowledge. The best way to ensure you don’t fail is to study your driver’s handbook, take practice tests and practice driving as much as you can.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Being nervous and paying more attention to the examiner than to the road in front of you
  • Failing to signal when turning
  • Failing to check your mirrors when changing lanes
  • Failing to come to a complete stop
  • Going over the speed limit

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test when you are ready.

How many times can I retake the test?

You can take the test five times in a one-year period. If you fail all five attempts you will have to request approval from the Bureau of Administrative Review (BAR) to take a sixth test.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your provisional license which will allow you to drive unsupervised between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. if you are 16 years old and between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. if you are 17 years of age.

What restrictions come with a Florida license?

If you are 16 years old, you can only drive unsupervised between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. If you are 17 years old you can only drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

Regardless of your age, you can drive anytime if you are supervised by a licensed driver 21 years old or older or you are going to or from work.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in FL?

If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are registering it, you must at least meet Florida’s minimum insurance requirements.

The minimum requirements are $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate.

PIP insurance, also called Florida No Fault Insurance, covers you regardless of fault (i.e. whether or not you cause the crash) – up to the limits of your policy.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

You can renew a license online, in person or by mail. There is a $15 fee to renew an expired license.

You can replace a lost or stolen license online or in person. If you are a non-US citizen, you must apply in person.

Where can I renew my Florida driver’s license?

If renewing in person, you must do so at the local DHSMV office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

At certain points during your life span you will be required to take the vision test. You will not have to take it each time you renew your license.

The Florida vision test requires you to meet or exceed the following vision standards:

  • 20/40 or better vision in each eye with or without corrective lenses meets state requirements without referral to an eye specialist
  • 20/50 or worse vision in either eye with or without corrective lenses are referred to an eye specialist for possible improvement
  • 20/70 vision in either eye, or both eyes together may pass after referral to an eye specialist, providing the vision in the worst eye is better than 20/200
Need help preparing for your Florida permit test? Let this handy guide walk you through each step from permit to license.  Becoming a fully licensed driver in Florida means not only passing the Florida permit test but also understanding the state’s Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL). The GDL was designed to help you become comfortable with your time behind the wheel as well as ensure you have a solid understanding of the rules of the road before you earn your unrestricted driving privileges.In the state of Florida, the GDL process means obtaining:

  • A Learner’s License.
  • An Operator’s License (restricted).
  • An unrestricted Operator’s License.

In this guide, we will help you understand how to pass the Florida permit test and go on to receive your full, unrestricted Operator’s License.

Learner’s License

When you are 15 years old, you can enroll in a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course, which is a requirement in the state of Florida. Once you take this class, you can apply for your Learner’s License(or learner’s permit), which will allow you to practice driving during daylight hours with a licensed driver age 21 or above in the passenger seat.

To receive your permit, you must pass a knowledge test (also known as the permit test) that will show how well you know the rules of the road as well as different traffic signs and signals.

The Florida DMV Test — What You Need to Know

Obtaining your Florida learner’s license is an important achievement. Not only does it takes you one-step closer to actually getting your driver’s license but it also provides a new level of freedom, mobility, and independence. But before you can get your learner’s license, you will need to pass the Florida permit test.

Florida’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for administering the test and issuing both permit and licenses. The Florida permit test contains questions on the rules of the road, various road signs, rules for safety, and state specific traffic laws.

Make Time to Study

Study as often as you can. We offer a free copy of the Florida Driver’s Handbook, and you can get a physical copy at your local Florida DMV office.

Pass Your Written Test With FL DMV Practice Permit Tests

Most people don’t prepare properly for the permit test. And perhaps that’s why statistics reveal the majority of people fail to pass it. Passing the test is simply the result of preparing with the right tools.

With the study-resources we’ve put together on this page, you can confidently begin preparing for a passing score. Here, you’ll find powerful tools, including our free Florida practice permit test as well as a copy of the official Florida Driver Handbook. Interested in getting a motorcycle permit? You’ll find valuable resources to help you tackle that exam too.

Do Your Testing

Check That You Have the Required Materials and Do Your Testing

In Florida, you have the option of taking your knowledge test online. There is only one authorized provider: the American Safety Council. To take your test online, your parent or guardian must agree to supervise you and sign a notarize document attesting to it.

If you choose to do your testing in person, head for your local DMV office, bringing along:

  • Your parent or guardian.
  • Proof that you passed your required courses.
  • Proof of Residency.
  • Your Social Security card.
  • Your certified birth certificate and one secondary identification.

Try to relax as you take your exam. You’ve studied hard for this, and now is your moment to shine. After you pass, you will need to take a simple vision and hearing test. In the state of Florida, 20/40 or better vision is required to drive.

Begin Your Practice

While holding your Learner’s License, you must practice 50 hours with your parent or guardian supervising you. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night. You don’t have to take a driver’s education course during this time, but if you do, you will not have to take a behind-the-wheel test later.

Operator’s License (limited)

After you have your Learner’s License for one year, you can apply for your Operator’s License.

When you are ready, visit the DMV, bringing along:

  • A certification signed by your parent or guardian stating that you completed your practice hours.
  • Proof that you passed your driver’s education course if you took one.

If you didn’t take a course, you will need to pass a behind-the-wheel test before you can receive your license. The fees you already paid cover this test, but if you fail, there is a $10 fee for retesting.

When you get your Operator’s license, be aware that it comes with some limitations that change as time goes on.

  • At age 16, you may only drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.
  • At age 17, you may only drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

Note: There is an exception for driving to and from employment, and you can always drive with a licensed driver age 21 or above in the passenger seat.

Unrestricted Florida Operator’s License

When you are 18 years old, all of the restrictions are automatically removed and you can carry on as a fully licensed driver.

Additional Information

If you’re moving to Florida from another state, you will still have to go through the GDL process, regardless of whether or not you have a current driver’s license. However, if you have held that license for at least one year, and you take the required Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course, you will be able to skip the Learner’s License and go straight to the Operator’s License after passing all of the required tests.

FL Manuals

The latest official FL state manuals