DE Practice Permit Test

Based on the 2022 DE DMV Manual

Permit Practice Tests (150 questions)

Because it’s America’s second smallest state, you can easily drive and experience much of Delaware’s charm in a short weekend. Its flat, scenic roads give drivers prime view of the Atlantic Ocean coastline as well as the Delaware River. But before you can become a licensed driver and explore all that Delaware has to offer you will need to pass the required DMV written test. Take the steps necessary now to prepare for the test by taking a few practice tests.  No matter if you’re preparing to earn your learners permit or simply renewing your driver’s license,  practice tests should be an essential part of your study regimen.

Delaware Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your DE License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Teen drivers under the age of 18 need to satisfy the requirements of Delaware’s Graduated Driver’s License Program. The age requirements are:

  • 16 years old – eligible for Level 1 Learner’s Permit
  • 17 years old – eligible for unrestricted Driver’s License

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Delaware?

Learner’s Permit:

  • Driver’s Education certificate of completion
  • Application co-signed by parent or legal guardian
  • Proof of DE residency, name, birth date and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents

The Level 1 Learner’s Permit automatically converts to a full Delaware license when the following occur:

  • Turn 17 years of age
  • Have had Learner’s Permit for at least 1 year.
  • No suspensions for 1 year
  • Complete 50 hours of driving practice, including 10 hours of driving at night

Where do I file my DE driver’s license application?

At a local Delaware DMV office.

How can I contact my local office?

For New Castle, call (302) 326-5000; for Greater Wilmington, call (302) 434-3200; for Dover, call (302) 744-2500; for Georgetown, call (302) 853-1000. You can also visit the DMV website at https://www.dmv.de.gov/

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, Delaware’s Graduated Driver’s License Program requires teen drivers to complete driver’s education.

What if I am New to Delaware?

If you already have an out-of-state driver’s license you will have 60 days to transfer it to a Delaware license.

If you have had your license for less than one year, you will receive a level 1 Learner’s Permit from Delaware.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

Subjects covered on the Delaware written permit test include road signs, traffic laws and other “rules of the road,” which are all covered in the state Driver’s Manual. Here are two examples of content from the manual that could be tested for on the written test:

  • The driver’s license of any Delaware resident can be suspended, for among other things: racing, spinning wheels and turfing (which is causing destruction to grass, yards, property, etc.).
  • Route markers in the shape of a shield are for the interstate highway system. The top quarter of the sign contains the word interstate in white letters on a red background while the bottom three-quarters is blue with the route number in large white letters.

How is the test formatted?

Delaware offers a multiple choice test.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, questions are taken directly from the Delaware Driver’s Manual so if you study enough there should be no surprises.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 25 questions on the Delaware written test and you are allowed to miss up to six and still pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

First and foremost, you should study your state Driver’s Manual. Pay particular attention to numbers and percentages but really you should focus on all the major subjects covered in the guide, including road signs which you will need to be able to recognize from sight. To prepare for the written test, take one of our practice tests.

Where can I get a free Delaware Driver’s Manual to study?

You can get a free copy from our website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

The key is to not cut short your study time. Read your Driver’s Manual and then study it thoroughly. If you put in the work and study the manual extensively you should be able to pass your test on the first try. Another thing you can do is take practice tests online which will give you a better idea of what areas you understand well and what areas you need to study more. Take a practice test.

What should I do the night before the test?

It’s always good to review the Driver’s Manual again and to take a practice test but don’t let your last minute study efforts interfere with you getting a good night’s rest. Sleeping well will ensure that you are energetic and thinking clearly at test time. You should also eat well and drink plenty of water to remain hydrated and feeling good.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Check with your local DMV office to see if an appointment is recommended.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at your local DMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Driver’s Education certificate of completion
  • Application co-signed by parent or legal guardian
  • Proof of DE residency, name, birth date and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $40 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test will consist of 25 multiple choice questions drawn from the content presented in the Delaware Driver’s Manual. You will need to answer at least 19 of the questions correctly to pass. If you come across a difficult question that you don’t know the answer to you may want to skip over it and then come back to it later. There is no time limit for the exam. You cannot use notes or refer to the driver’s manual. Take a practice test formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will be issued your Learner’s Permit. In the first six months after you receive your Learner’s Permit you will need to complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice, with 10 of those hours coming at night. The hours will be logged in an affidavit by a parent or guardian.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test in 10 days.

Why is there a waiting period to retake the test?

This is to give you time to strengthen your knowledge in the areas that you did not do well in.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

You will need to complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice, with 10 of those hours completed at night. During this time you can have only 1 passenger in your car, the driving supervisor, unless the other passengers are immediate family members.

In six months, with the driving requirement complete, your supervised Learner’s Permit becomes an Unsupervised Learner’s Permit, which allows you to:

  • Drive unsupervised between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.
  • Drive supervised at any time

Other restrictions include:

  • Only one passenger when adult supervisor not present
  • Only passenger in addition to adult supervisor unless they are immediate family members

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

Your Level 1 Learner’s Permit automatically converts to an unrestricted driver’s license when you meet the following requirements:

  • 17 years old
  • Learner’s Permit for one year
  • No suspensions for 1 year.
  • Completed 50 hours of driving practice, including 10 night hours

Can I drive anywhere in Delaware with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, with your Learner’s Permit you will be able to drive on any public road or street in Delaware.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you must also drive at least 10 hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by licensed adult who is age 25 or older and who has had his or her license for at least five years.

What should I do if I have a lost Delaware Learner’s Permit?

Go directly to your local DMV office. Be sure to bring proper identification (like you did when you applied for the permit).

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Make maximum use of your driving practice time. That means being focused on the task at hand and being open to the advice and suggestions of your driving supervisor. Also, study Delaware’s rules of the road and apply them to your own driving.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Be sure to practice turns, stops, starts, parking, defensive driving and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Practice maneuvers most commonly tested for on the exam, such as parking, changing lanes, stopping, starting, driving in traffic and making turns, including 3-point turns.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact the DMV office nearest you that offers driving tests.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a Delaware DMV office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

Bring:

  • A vehicle
  • Vehicle registration and proof of insurance
  • Your Learner’s Permit
  • Proof of completed behind-the-wheel driving practice

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A parent or legal guardian should bring you if you are under 18 years of age.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

You will need to know how to perform essential vehicle maneuvers, such as driving in traffic, changing lanes, parking, stopping, starting, signaling and more.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

A lack of quality practice is often a major cause of failing. Don’t take your driving practice for granted, be attentive and focused at all times. Listen to your adult supervisor and be sure to study the Delaware rules of the road. All of these things will increase your confidence and ensure that you perform well on the exam.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Failing to signal
  • Failing to check your blind spot when changing lanes
  • Making a rolling stop
  • Speeding
  • Paying too much attention to the examiner and not enough attention to the road

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test in 10 days.

Why must I wait to take the test again?

The delay is meant to give you time to practice and improve in the areas where you made mistakes previously.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your official Delaware driver’s license.

What restrictions come with a Delaware license?

Once you are 17 years of age, have held your permit for one year and have completed 50 hours of driving practice, your Delaware license has no restrictions.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in DE?

Delaware requires drivers to carry at a minimum the following insurance coverage: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage; $10,000 for property damage liability coverage; $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage; $10,000 per accident for uninsured motorist property damage coverage; and $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for personal injury protection coverage.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Visit your local DMV office to renew your driver’s license or to replace a lost or stolen license.

Where can I renew my Delaware driver’s license?

You must visit a DMV office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, you will need to take a vision test. Minimum acceptable vision for a Delaware driver license is 20/40, with or without glasses or contact lenses. Permission for daylight only driving may be granted if your vision is between 20/40 and 20/50.

The Delaware permit test doesn’t have to be difficult. Simply follow this step-by-step guide and we will walk you the process of preparing for the permit test, receiving your permit, and finally earning your Class D drivers license.Passing the Delaware permit test and getting your Delaware learner’s permit is the first step toward obtaining your full, unrestricted driver’s license. Like many states, Delaware has a graduated license program (GDL), which separates the licensing process into three different stages. These steps are designed to gradually introduce you to the rules of the road and help you develop your driving skills over an extended period of time. You’ll gain the experience necessary to become a better driver.In Delaware, the GDL program consists of obtaining your:

  • Level One learner’s permit
  • Level One learner’s permit (with lessened restrictions)
  • Class D Operator’s license (full driver’s license)

In this guide, we will help you learn how to pass the Delaware permit test and eventually go on to receive your full, unrestricted license. Let’s get started!

Understand The Requirements

The state of Delaware requires that you pass an approved driver’s education course before you can apply for your level One learner’s permit. When you are 16 years old and have successfully passed the course, you can apply. The permit will allow you to practice driving with a licensed driver age 25 or older in the passenger seat.

To get your permit, you must pass a written exam, more commonly known as the permit test, which checks your knowledge of the rules of the road as well as various traffic signs and signals.

The Delaware DMV Permit Test — What Your Need to Know

So, it’s time for you get your learner’s permit and finally get behind the wheel.  This is an important milestone as it represents one step closer towards getting your driver’s license. The only thing standing in your way is the Delaware permit test?  Think you’re ready?

Before you can become a legally licensed driver, the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires you to pass a mandatory written test. More commonly known as the permit test, this exam was created to test your knowledge of the rules of road, various traffic signs, and motor vehicle laws specific to your state.

Study the Delaware Driver’s Manual

If you want to succeed at the exam, you will need to study hard. We provide a free copy of the Delaware Driver’s Handbook online, or you can visit the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office to request a copy.

Ensure Your Success With DE DMV Practice Permit Tests

It’s natural to feel nervous at the thought of taking a test. Most people experience at least a little anxiety before sitting down for an exam.  With over 70% of test takers failing the exam every year, it’s important that you get your hands on the best study material available.

Our goal is to help you gain the knowledge and confidence you need pass your permit test.  With the study material on this page, you’ll have the head start needed to ensure you don’t face any surprises on test day.  Our powerful interactive Delaware practice permit test is an excellent way to start practicing while getting a feel for the practice test format.  Need a solid reference tool?  You’ll find a copy of the official Delaware Drivers Handbook here too.

Taking practice exams is a great way to make sure that you don’t waste your time and money failing a test you are not ready for. Our Delaware practice permit tests include much of the same material you will find on the actual test, and after taking it, you will feel more prepared.

Gather Your Materials and Visit Your Local DMV Office

When you feel ready to take the written exam, visit your local DMV office, bringing a few important items along with you:

  • Your certified birth certificate
  • Your social security card
  • Two items to prove your Delaware residency, such as a bank statement, utility bill or employment record
  • The blue certificate that shows you passed your driver’s education course
  • $40.00 in fees to cover both your learner’s permit and future license
  • A parent or guardian to sign as a sponsor for you

Try to relax and do your best on the exam. You’ve studied hard, and now is your time to shine. Once you pass your written exam, you will be required to take a vision test to ensure you can see well enough to drive safely. You will also need to make an appointment for the behind-the-wheel test, which you can take 10 days after the written exam.

Take the Road Test

Once you pass your written exam, you will be required to take a vision test to ensure you can see well enough to drive safely. You will also need to make an appointment for the behind-the-wheel test, which you can take 10 days after the written exam.

When you go to the DMV office to take your road test, be sure to bring:

  • A licensed parent or guardian
  • A registered vehicle and proof of insurance
  • Your level One learner’s permit

The Delaware Level One Learner’s Permit With Lessened Restrictions
While you have your level One learner’s permit, you must complete at least 50 hours of practice driving under the supervision of a licensed driver age 25 or older. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night.

When you are at least 16 and a half years old, have held your learner’s permit for six months and have finished your practice hours, you will be allowed to drive without supervision. However, there are still some restrictions you should be aware of:

  • You may not drive between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. unless you are going to and from a work, church or school-related function
  • You may not drive with more than one passenger unless they are family members
  • You may not drive without a seatbelt and neither may your passengers

Your Delaware Class D Operator’s Driver’s License

When you are 17 years old and have held your Level One learner’s permit for at least a year, your license will automatically convert to a Class D operator’s license and you will be able to drive without restriction. Enjoy your new found freedom as a fully licensed driver!

Additional Information

If you would like to skip driver’s education, you must wait until you are 18 years old to apply for your learner’s permit.

Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)

Because it’s America’s second smallest state, you can easily drive and experience much of Delaware’s charm in a short weekend. Its flat, scenic roads give drivers prime view of the Atlantic Ocean coastline as well as the Delaware River. But before you can become a licensed driver and explore all that Delaware has to offer you will need to pass the required DMV written test. Take the steps necessary now to prepare for the test by taking a few practice tests.  No matter if you’re preparing to earn your learners permit or simply renewing your driver’s license,  practice tests should be an essential part of your study regimen.

Delaware Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your DE License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Teen drivers under the age of 18 need to satisfy the requirements of Delaware’s Graduated Driver’s License Program. The age requirements are:

  • 16 years old – eligible for Level 1 Learner’s Permit
  • 17 years old – eligible for unrestricted Driver’s License

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Delaware?

Learner’s Permit:

  • Driver’s Education certificate of completion
  • Application co-signed by parent or legal guardian
  • Proof of DE residency, name, birth date and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents

The Level 1 Learner’s Permit automatically converts to a full Delaware license when the following occur:

  • Turn 17 years of age
  • Have had Learner’s Permit for at least 1 year.
  • No suspensions for 1 year
  • Complete 50 hours of driving practice, including 10 hours of driving at night

Where do I file my DE driver’s license application?

At a local Delaware DMV office.

How can I contact my local office?

For New Castle, call (302) 326-5000; for Greater Wilmington, call (302) 434-3200; for Dover, call (302) 744-2500; for Georgetown, call (302) 853-1000. You can also visit the DMV website at https://www.dmv.de.gov/

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

Yes, Delaware’s Graduated Driver’s License Program requires teen drivers to complete driver’s education.

What if I am New to Delaware?

If you already have an out-of-state driver’s license you will have 60 days to transfer it to a Delaware license.

If you have had your license for less than one year, you will receive a level 1 Learner’s Permit from Delaware.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

Subjects covered on the Delaware written permit test include road signs, traffic laws and other “rules of the road,” which are all covered in the state Driver’s Manual. Here are two examples of content from the manual that could be tested for on the written test:

  • The driver’s license of any Delaware resident can be suspended, for among other things: racing, spinning wheels and turfing (which is causing destruction to grass, yards, property, etc.).
  • Route markers in the shape of a shield are for the interstate highway system. The top quarter of the sign contains the word interstate in white letters on a red background while the bottom three-quarters is blue with the route number in large white letters.

How is the test formatted?

Delaware offers a multiple choice test.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, questions are taken directly from the Delaware Driver’s Manual so if you study enough there should be no surprises.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

There are 25 questions on the Delaware written test and you are allowed to miss up to six and still pass.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

First and foremost, you should study your state Driver’s Manual. Pay particular attention to numbers and percentages but really you should focus on all the major subjects covered in the guide, including road signs which you will need to be able to recognize from sight. To prepare for the written test, take one of our practice tests.

Where can I get a free Delaware Driver’s Manual to study?

You can get a free copy from our website.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

The key is to not cut short your study time. Read your Driver’s Manual and then study it thoroughly. If you put in the work and study the manual extensively you should be able to pass your test on the first try. Another thing you can do is take practice tests online which will give you a better idea of what areas you understand well and what areas you need to study more. Take a practice test.

What should I do the night before the test?

It’s always good to review the Driver’s Manual again and to take a practice test but don’t let your last minute study efforts interfere with you getting a good night’s rest. Sleeping well will ensure that you are energetic and thinking clearly at test time. You should also eat well and drink plenty of water to remain hydrated and feeling good.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

Check with your local DMV office to see if an appointment is recommended.

Where do I take the written test?

You will take the test at your local DMV office.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Driver’s Education certificate of completion
  • Application co-signed by parent or legal guardian
  • Proof of DE residency, name, birth date and Social Security Number – here are acceptable documents

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, you will need to pay a $40 fee.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

The test will consist of 25 multiple choice questions drawn from the content presented in the Delaware Driver’s Manual. You will need to answer at least 19 of the questions correctly to pass. If you come across a difficult question that you don’t know the answer to you may want to skip over it and then come back to it later. There is no time limit for the exam. You cannot use notes or refer to the driver’s manual. Take a practice test formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will be issued your Learner’s Permit. In the first six months after you receive your Learner’s Permit you will need to complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice, with 10 of those hours coming at night. The hours will be logged in an affidavit by a parent or guardian.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can retake the test in 10 days.

Why is there a waiting period to retake the test?

This is to give you time to strengthen your knowledge in the areas that you did not do well in.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

You will need to complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice, with 10 of those hours completed at night. During this time you can have only 1 passenger in your car, the driving supervisor, unless the other passengers are immediate family members.

In six months, with the driving requirement complete, your supervised Learner’s Permit becomes an Unsupervised Learner’s Permit, which allows you to:

  • Drive unsupervised between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.
  • Drive supervised at any time

Other restrictions include:

  • Only one passenger when adult supervisor not present
  • Only passenger in addition to adult supervisor unless they are immediate family members

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a license?

Your Level 1 Learner’s Permit automatically converts to an unrestricted driver’s license when you meet the following requirements:

  • 17 years old
  • Learner’s Permit for one year
  • No suspensions for 1 year.
  • Completed 50 hours of driving practice, including 10 night hours

Can I drive anywhere in Delaware with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, with your Learner’s Permit you will be able to drive on any public road or street in Delaware.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you must also drive at least 10 hours at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must be accompanied by licensed adult who is age 25 or older and who has had his or her license for at least five years.

What should I do if I have a lost Delaware Learner’s Permit?

Go directly to your local DMV office. Be sure to bring proper identification (like you did when you applied for the permit).

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

Make maximum use of your driving practice time. That means being focused on the task at hand and being open to the advice and suggestions of your driving supervisor. Also, study Delaware’s rules of the road and apply them to your own driving.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Be sure to practice turns, stops, starts, parking, defensive driving and more.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Practice maneuvers most commonly tested for on the exam, such as parking, changing lanes, stopping, starting, driving in traffic and making turns, including 3-point turns.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Contact the DMV office nearest you that offers driving tests.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a Delaware DMV office.

What should I bring to the driving test?

Bring:

  • A vehicle
  • Vehicle registration and proof of insurance
  • Your Learner’s Permit
  • Proof of completed behind-the-wheel driving practice

Who should bring me to the driving test?

A parent or legal guardian should bring you if you are under 18 years of age.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

You will need to know how to perform essential vehicle maneuvers, such as driving in traffic, changing lanes, parking, stopping, starting, signaling and more.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

A lack of quality practice is often a major cause of failing. Don’t take your driving practice for granted, be attentive and focused at all times. Listen to your adult supervisor and be sure to study the Delaware rules of the road. All of these things will increase your confidence and ensure that you perform well on the exam.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Failing to signal
  • Failing to check your blind spot when changing lanes
  • Making a rolling stop
  • Speeding
  • Paying too much attention to the examiner and not enough attention to the road

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test in 10 days.

Why must I wait to take the test again?

The delay is meant to give you time to practice and improve in the areas where you made mistakes previously.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your official Delaware driver’s license.

What restrictions come with a Delaware license?

Once you are 17 years of age, have held your permit for one year and have completed 50 hours of driving practice, your Delaware license has no restrictions.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in DE?

Delaware requires drivers to carry at a minimum the following insurance coverage: $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage; $10,000 for property damage liability coverage; $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage; $10,000 per accident for uninsured motorist property damage coverage; and $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for personal injury protection coverage.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Visit your local DMV office to renew your driver’s license or to replace a lost or stolen license.

Where can I renew my Delaware driver’s license?

You must visit a DMV office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

Yes, you will need to take a vision test. Minimum acceptable vision for a Delaware driver license is 20/40, with or without glasses or contact lenses. Permission for daylight only driving may be granted if your vision is between 20/40 and 20/50.

The Delaware permit test doesn’t have to be difficult. Simply follow this step-by-step guide and we will walk you the process of preparing for the permit test, receiving your permit, and finally earning your Class D drivers license.Passing the Delaware permit test and getting your Delaware learner’s permit is the first step toward obtaining your full, unrestricted driver’s license. Like many states, Delaware has a graduated license program (GDL), which separates the licensing process into three different stages. These steps are designed to gradually introduce you to the rules of the road and help you develop your driving skills over an extended period of time. You’ll gain the experience necessary to become a better driver.In Delaware, the GDL program consists of obtaining your:

  • Level One learner’s permit
  • Level One learner’s permit (with lessened restrictions)
  • Class D Operator’s license (full driver’s license)

In this guide, we will help you learn how to pass the Delaware permit test and eventually go on to receive your full, unrestricted license. Let’s get started!

Understand The Requirements

The state of Delaware requires that you pass an approved driver’s education course before you can apply for your level One learner’s permit. When you are 16 years old and have successfully passed the course, you can apply. The permit will allow you to practice driving with a licensed driver age 25 or older in the passenger seat.

To get your permit, you must pass a written exam, more commonly known as the permit test, which checks your knowledge of the rules of the road as well as various traffic signs and signals.

The Delaware DMV Permit Test — What Your Need to Know

So, it’s time for you get your learner’s permit and finally get behind the wheel.  This is an important milestone as it represents one step closer towards getting your driver’s license. The only thing standing in your way is the Delaware permit test?  Think you’re ready?

Before you can become a legally licensed driver, the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires you to pass a mandatory written test. More commonly known as the permit test, this exam was created to test your knowledge of the rules of road, various traffic signs, and motor vehicle laws specific to your state.

Study the Delaware Driver’s Manual

If you want to succeed at the exam, you will need to study hard. We provide a free copy of the Delaware Driver’s Handbook online, or you can visit the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office to request a copy.

Ensure Your Success With DE DMV Practice Permit Tests

It’s natural to feel nervous at the thought of taking a test. Most people experience at least a little anxiety before sitting down for an exam.  With over 70% of test takers failing the exam every year, it’s important that you get your hands on the best study material available.

Our goal is to help you gain the knowledge and confidence you need pass your permit test.  With the study material on this page, you’ll have the head start needed to ensure you don’t face any surprises on test day.  Our powerful interactive Delaware practice permit test is an excellent way to start practicing while getting a feel for the practice test format.  Need a solid reference tool?  You’ll find a copy of the official Delaware Drivers Handbook here too.

Taking practice exams is a great way to make sure that you don’t waste your time and money failing a test you are not ready for. Our Delaware practice permit tests include much of the same material you will find on the actual test, and after taking it, you will feel more prepared.

Gather Your Materials and Visit Your Local DMV Office

When you feel ready to take the written exam, visit your local DMV office, bringing a few important items along with you:

  • Your certified birth certificate
  • Your social security card
  • Two items to prove your Delaware residency, such as a bank statement, utility bill or employment record
  • The blue certificate that shows you passed your driver’s education course
  • $40.00 in fees to cover both your learner’s permit and future license
  • A parent or guardian to sign as a sponsor for you

Try to relax and do your best on the exam. You’ve studied hard, and now is your time to shine. Once you pass your written exam, you will be required to take a vision test to ensure you can see well enough to drive safely. You will also need to make an appointment for the behind-the-wheel test, which you can take 10 days after the written exam.

Take the Road Test

Once you pass your written exam, you will be required to take a vision test to ensure you can see well enough to drive safely. You will also need to make an appointment for the behind-the-wheel test, which you can take 10 days after the written exam.

When you go to the DMV office to take your road test, be sure to bring:

  • A licensed parent or guardian
  • A registered vehicle and proof of insurance
  • Your level One learner’s permit

The Delaware Level One Learner’s Permit With Lessened Restrictions
While you have your level One learner’s permit, you must complete at least 50 hours of practice driving under the supervision of a licensed driver age 25 or older. Of those hours, 10 must take place at night.

When you are at least 16 and a half years old, have held your learner’s permit for six months and have finished your practice hours, you will be allowed to drive without supervision. However, there are still some restrictions you should be aware of:

  • You may not drive between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. unless you are going to and from a work, church or school-related function
  • You may not drive with more than one passenger unless they are family members
  • You may not drive without a seatbelt and neither may your passengers

Your Delaware Class D Operator’s Driver’s License

When you are 17 years old and have held your Level One learner’s permit for at least a year, your license will automatically convert to a Class D operator’s license and you will be able to drive without restriction. Enjoy your new found freedom as a fully licensed driver!

Additional Information

If you would like to skip driver’s education, you must wait until you are 18 years old to apply for your learner’s permit.

DE Manuals

The latest official DE state manuals