AZ Practice Permit Test

Based on the 2022 AZ DMV Manual

Permit Practice Tests (154 questions)

Arizona is rated as one of America’s best states to drive. Why? Rich, vibrant desert landscape; inviting mountains and forests with an abundance of wildlife; and of course the imposing Grand Canyon. Driving in Arizona is a privilege that both new and long-time drivers appreciate.  Before you can explore all this state has to offer you will need to pass the DMV written test. But don’t worry, we’ve put together a group of powerful study aids from practice tests to study guides to ensure your success. Take the steps now to secure your learners permit or drivers license so you too can become one of the proud drivers in The Grand Canyon State.

Arizona Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your AZ License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Arizona is among the numerous states that now offer a Graduated Driver’s License (or GDL) program. The program includes the following steps to achieving a full, unrestricted driver’s license:

  • Eligible for Learner’s Permit – 15 ½ years old
  • Eligible for Class G graduated license – 16 years old
  • Eligible for Class D driver’s license – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Arizona?

For the Arizona Learner’s Permit:

  • Form 40-5122 (Driver License Application). Must be signed by parent or legal guardian
  • Two proofs of identification. Here are acceptable documents you can submit.

For Graduated Driver’s License:

  • Valid Learner’s Permit
  • Proof of completion of 30 hours of supervised driving or proof of completion of state-approved driver’s education course
  • Registration and proof of insurance for vehicle you will be driving for test.

For Class D Operator’s License:

  • Provisional license
  • Form 40-5122 (Driver License Application)

Where do I file my AZ driver’s license application?

Licensing in Arizona is handled by The Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

How can I contact my local MVD office?

Call (602) 255-0072 for the Phoenix Area; call (520) 629-9808 for the Tucson Area; call (800) 251-5866 for the rest of the state. You can also visit the website at https://azdot.gov/.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

No, teens in Arizona have the option of taking Driver’s Education, which consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training. The course satisfies the state requirement of 30 hours of supervised driving practice that is required to qualify for a graduated driver’s license.

What if I am New to Arizona?

Teens who have already earned an out-of-state license can transfer their license to Arizona by visiting the local MVD office where they will surrender their old license, take a vision test and pay a $25 fee to receive a new Arizona license.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Arizona written knowledge test covers road signs, traffic laws and safe driving rules. Content is drawn from the state driver’s manual. Here are examples from the manual that you may be tested on:

  • Hazard warning signal lights (emergency flashers) should be activated whenever your vehicle is stopped on the roadway or shoulder of the road.
  • A flashing yellow arrow means you should slow down and turn with caution if the roadway is clear.

How is the test formatted?

You are given a set of answers to each question and asked to choose the correct one.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, there are no “trick” questions – only questions that range from easy to difficult to answer that cover material presented in the Arizona Driver’s Manual.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

The Arizona written test has 30 multiple-choice questions. You must answer at least 24 of the questions correctly in order to pass the test.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Study the Arizona Driver’s Handbook thoroughly. To further expand your knowledge and identify areas that you may need to work on, take practice tests online. To take a practice test now.

Where can I get a free Arizona driver’s manual to study?

This website offers free copies of the Arizona driver’s manual.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

The most important thing you can do is study the Arizona driver’s handbook. This manual is filled with all the information you need to know to pass. To gauge how much information you are retaining and to ensure you aren’t missing something important, take an online practice test.

What should I do the night before the test?

Take a practice test to confirm you have the knowledge to pass. If you miss any questions be sure to refresh your memory by going back over those sections of the Arizona driver’s handbook.

Also be sure to get plenty of sleep and to eat a good meal before going to take the test to ensure you perform at your best.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

While it may not be necessary, if your MVD office accepts appointments it is recommended that you make one to ensure minimal wait time.

Where do I take the written test?

The test is given at local MVD offices.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Form 40-5122 (Driver License Application). Must be signed by a parent or legal guardian
  • Two proofs of identification. Here is a list of acceptable documents.

You will also need to:

  • Pass the vision test
  • Pass the written test
  • Pay your $7 permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, a $7 instruction permit fee is charged.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

You will be presented with a series of 30 multiple choice questions covering driving in the state of Arizona. Each question has a set of multiple-choice answers and you will need to identify and select the correct one. There is no time limit for the test. You cannot refer to the Arizona driver’s manual or any notes. Take a practice test that is formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will be given your Learner’s Permit. You are now required to complete 30 hours of supervised driving practice either with a licensed driver 21 years or older or by enrolling in a driver’s education class.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can take the test again as early as the next day though it is recommended that you study the areas where you answered questions incorrectly before retaking the exam.

How many times can I retake the written test?

You are allowed to take the test three times within a 12 month period.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

After passing the written test and receiving your Learner’s Permit, you can start practicing with a licensed driver age 21 or over. You must complete 30 hours of supervised driving practice with 20 hours completed during the day and 10 hours completed at night.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a restricted license?

You must have your Learner’s Permit for six months before applying for a restricted license. You must also complete 30 hours of supervised driving practice during that time.

Can I drive anywhere in Arizona with my Learner’s Permit?

Provided you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older, you can practice driving on any public road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you must also complete 10 hours of supervised driving practice at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What should I do if I have a lost or expired Arizona Learner’s Permit?

In the event of a lost Learner’s Permit, visit your local MVD office with proper identification to receive a duplicate.

Your Arizona Learner’s Permit expires after 12 months. If your permit has expired, visit your local MVD office and go through the entire procedure again to receive a new Learner’s Permit, including taking the written test and paying the $7 fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

The keys to passing the driving test are to thoroughly study the Arizona Driver’s Manual and apply what you learn to your driving and then to get as much driving practice as you can.

When practicing be sure that you are practicing good defensive driving and are not developing bad habits.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Common maneuvers tested for on the driving test include 3-point turns, parking, stopping, changing lanes and driving defensively.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Talk to people who have taken the local test and practice the maneuvers they indicated are on the test, such as parking, 3-point turns, etc. Another tip is, if possible, drive the same roads that are used for the test to get more familiar with them.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Visit the MVD website or call your local office to arrange an appointment.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local MVD office that offers it.

What should I bring to the driving test?

Be sure to go to your test with all of the following:

  • A well-maintained vehicle that runs properly
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Learner’s Permit
  • Proof that you have completed 30 hours of supervised driving practice

Who should bring me to the driving test?

If you are under 18 years of age, you should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

After demonstrating knowledge of your car’s systems and that they are functioning properly, you will be required to complete a serious of maneuvers which may include 3-point turns, parking, stopping, accelerating, changing lanes, driving in traffic and more.

You will also need to demonstrate safe, defensive driving techniques.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

One of the biggest reasons is being unprepared. Be sure to practice driving and to study the Arizona rules of the road so that you will be prepared for whatever circumstances may arise during your test. Also, be sure to do all the “little things” like check your mirrors, follow at a safe distance, etc.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Rolling stops
  • “Peel out” starts
  • Improper hand position on the wheel
  • Not checking your mirrors when changing lanes
  • Following too closely behind the vehicle in front of you

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next day.

How many times can I retake the driving test?

You can take the Arizona road test three times in a 12 month period.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Class G provisional license.

What restrictions come with an AZ Provisional License?

You cannot drive with more than one passenger under the age of 18, unless they are your brothers and sisters or you are driving with a parent or guardian in the front seat.

Also, for the first six months you have your license you cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. Exceptions to this rule include when you have a parent or guardian in the front seat or you are driving to or from work, school or church or there is a family emergency.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in AZ?

Every motor vehicle operated on Arizona roadways must be covered by an insurance liability policy issued by a company that is licensed to do business in Arizona. Minimum policy requirements are $15,000 for bodily injury liability for one person and $30,000 for two or more persons and $10,000 property damage liability.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Your Arizona license is valid until age 65. However, you must go in to the local MVD office every 12 years to have your photo updated and to take a vision exam.
You can replace a lost or stolen license online, over the phone, by mail or in person. Contact your local MVD office to learn more.

Where can I renew my Arizona driver’s license?

You can only renew your license in person at a local MVD office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

You are required to go to an MVD office and pass a vision test every 12 years.

To pass the test, you must have uncorrected vision of 20/40 or better in at least one eye. If you cannot meet this requirement without glasses or contact lenses, you will be given a license with an “A” restriction. An “A” restriction means you must always wear your glasses or contact lenses when driving

How to Get Your Arizona Learner’s Permit

Looking to prepare for the the Arizona permit test but don’t where to begin?  Getting your learner’s permit is the first step toward obtaining your unrestricted driver’s license.

Like many other states, Arizona has a graduated-licensing system (GDL) for teens, which separates the process into three stages and helps you learn important road rules and develop the necessary driving skills before becoming an independent driver.

In Arizona, the GDL program consists of obtaining a:

  • Graduated instruction permit (or learner’s permit)
  • Class G graduated driver’s license
  • Class D operator’s (unrestricted) driver’s license

In this guide, you will learn how to prepare for the Arizona permit test, receive your graduated driver’s license and eventually go on to become an unrestricted driver.

Instruction Permit

When you are at least 15 and a half years old, you can apply for your Arizona graduated instruction permit (also known as the learner’s permit), which will allow you to practice driving with a licensed driver age 21 or over in the passenger seat. The permit requires that you pass a written exam that demonstrates your knowledge of the rules of the road as well as various traffic signs and signals.

The Arizona MVD Permit Test — What You Need to Know

Looking to get your Arizona learners permit or driver’s license?  We can understand your excitement for a permit represents freedom and independence.  Becoming a licensed driver means never having to rely on friends or family to drive you around.  But before you can get behind the wheel, the Arizona MVD (Motor Vehicle Division) requires you to pass the Arizona written test. To pass this test, you will need to thoroughly understand the rules of the road, common road signs and various traffic laws within the state.

Spend Plenty of Time Studying

If you want to do well on the test, you will need to dedicate time to studying. Read the entire handbook and spend extra time on any parts that you’re unsure about. We provide a free copy of the Arizona Driver’s Handbook here, or you can get a physical copy by visiting the office of the Arizona Motor Vehicles Division (MVD) and requesting one.

Prepare the Smart Way With AZ DMV Practice Permit Tests

It might seem like a piece of cake, but every year nearly 50% of first-time test takers fail. Failing the test can mean having to reschedule and head back to the MVD office to take the test all over again.  You may even have to pay additional retesting fees.  Do you really want to take that chance? We know you are eager to get on the road so we’ve put together a set of powerful study tools to help you prepare and master the Arizona permit test. On this site, you’ll find our Arizona practice permit test as well as a copy of the official Arizona Drivers Manual.  Used together, they provide a great set of tools to begin preparing for the test.

Don’t waste your time and money taking a test you aren’t prepared for. Instead, take a few practice tests first. Our Arizona practice permit test includes many of the same topics you will find on the real test and is a great resource for learning.

Collect the Required Items and Visit Your Local MVD Office

Before you head to the MVD to take the test, check to make sure you have everything that is required:

  • A driver’s license application (form 40-5122) with a signature from your parent or guardian
  • Two forms of identification, one of which must include a photograph of you
  • $7 for testing fees

Take the Exams

Try to relax and be positive as you take the written exam. Think carefully about your answers and take all the time you need. After passing, you will take a vision test to ensure you can see well enough to safely drive.

Graduated License

You are eligible to move on to the next stage in the graduated-license process when you are 16 years old, have held your instruction permit for at least six months and have completed at least 30 hours of practice driving with a licensed driver aged 21 or above supervising you. Of those 30 hours, 10 must be at night.

If you don’t have a parent or guardian willing to help, you have the option of completing a state-approved driver’s education course instead.

When you are ready, visit your local MVD office to take the road test. Be sure to bring a few items along with you:

  • Your Arizona graduated instruction permit
  • Two forms of identification, one of which includes your photograph
  • Registration and proof of insurance for the vehicle you’ll be driving during the test
  • $25 for testing and license fees
  • Written certification from your parent or guardian that you completed your necessary practice hours or proof of successful completion from a state-approved driver’s education class

Be aware that the Arizona Class G graduated driver’s license comes with a few limitations:

  • You may not drive with passengers under 18 years of age unless they are family members or your parent or guardian is riding in the passenger seat
  • You may not drive between midnight and 5 a.m. during the first six months of holding your license unless there is a family emergency, your parent or guardian is riding in the passenger seat, or you are on your way to or from a work, church or school event

Operator’s License

When you have your Class G graduated license for at least six months and haven’t had any traffic violations, you will be free to drive without restriction. When you turn 18, you can choose to continue driving with your Class G license or go on to obtain a new Class D license. If you choose the latter, you will need to bring two forms of identification to your local MVD office and pay $12 in fees to receive your Class D license.

Additional Information

If you are a teen with a driver’s license from another state, you can transfer your license to Arizona by bringing your current license to the MVD office, taking a vision test and paying a $25 fee.

Motorcycle Practice Tests (100 questions)

Arizona is rated as one of America’s best states to drive. Why? Rich, vibrant desert landscape; inviting mountains and forests with an abundance of wildlife; and of course the imposing Grand Canyon. Driving in Arizona is a privilege that both new and long-time drivers appreciate.  Before you can explore all this state has to offer you will need to pass the DMV written test. But don’t worry, we’ve put together a group of powerful study aids from practice tests to study guides to ensure your success. Take the steps now to secure your learners permit or drivers license so you too can become one of the proud drivers in The Grand Canyon State.

Arizona Learner's Permit FAQ

Applying for Your AZ License

What are the age requirements for getting started?

Arizona is among the numerous states that now offer a Graduated Driver’s License (or GDL) program. The program includes the following steps to achieving a full, unrestricted driver’s license:

  • Eligible for Learner’s Permit – 15 ½ years old
  • Eligible for Class G graduated license – 16 years old
  • Eligible for Class D driver’s license – 18 years old

What documents am I required to bring with me when applying for a license in Arizona?

For the Arizona Learner’s Permit:

  • Form 40-5122 (Driver License Application). Must be signed by parent or legal guardian
  • Two proofs of identification. Here are acceptable documents you can submit.

For Graduated Driver’s License:

  • Valid Learner’s Permit
  • Proof of completion of 30 hours of supervised driving or proof of completion of state-approved driver’s education course
  • Registration and proof of insurance for vehicle you will be driving for test.

For Class D Operator’s License:

  • Provisional license
  • Form 40-5122 (Driver License Application)

Where do I file my AZ driver’s license application?

Licensing in Arizona is handled by The Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

How can I contact my local MVD office?

Call (602) 255-0072 for the Phoenix Area; call (520) 629-9808 for the Tucson Area; call (800) 251-5866 for the rest of the state. You can also visit the website at https://azdot.gov/.

Do I have to take a Driver’s Ed Course?

No, teens in Arizona have the option of taking Driver’s Education, which consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training. The course satisfies the state requirement of 30 hours of supervised driving practice that is required to qualify for a graduated driver’s license.

What if I am New to Arizona?

Teens who have already earned an out-of-state license can transfer their license to Arizona by visiting the local MVD office where they will surrender their old license, take a vision test and pay a $25 fee to receive a new Arizona license.

What subjects are commonly covered on the written test?

The Arizona written knowledge test covers road signs, traffic laws and safe driving rules. Content is drawn from the state driver’s manual. Here are examples from the manual that you may be tested on:

  • Hazard warning signal lights (emergency flashers) should be activated whenever your vehicle is stopped on the roadway or shoulder of the road.
  • A flashing yellow arrow means you should slow down and turn with caution if the roadway is clear.

How is the test formatted?

You are given a set of answers to each question and asked to choose the correct one.

Are there a lot of “trick” questions on the written test?

No, there are no “trick” questions – only questions that range from easy to difficult to answer that cover material presented in the Arizona Driver’s Manual.

How many questions are on the test and how many do I need to answer correctly to pass?

The Arizona written test has 30 multiple-choice questions. You must answer at least 24 of the questions correctly in order to pass the test.

What are the best ways to prepare for the written test?

Study the Arizona Driver’s Handbook thoroughly. To further expand your knowledge and identify areas that you may need to work on, take practice tests online. To take a practice test now.

Where can I get a free Arizona driver’s manual to study?

This website offers free copies of the Arizona driver’s manual.

How can I improve my odds for passing the first time I take the test?

The most important thing you can do is study the Arizona driver’s handbook. This manual is filled with all the information you need to know to pass. To gauge how much information you are retaining and to ensure you aren’t missing something important, take an online practice test.

What should I do the night before the test?

Take a practice test to confirm you have the knowledge to pass. If you miss any questions be sure to refresh your memory by going back over those sections of the Arizona driver’s handbook.

Also be sure to get plenty of sleep and to eat a good meal before going to take the test to ensure you perform at your best.

Do I need to make an appointment to take the written test?

While it may not be necessary, if your MVD office accepts appointments it is recommended that you make one to ensure minimal wait time.

Where do I take the written test?

The test is given at local MVD offices.

What do I need to bring when I sit for the written test?

  • Form 40-5122 (Driver License Application). Must be signed by a parent or legal guardian
  • Two proofs of identification. Here is a list of acceptable documents.

You will also need to:

  • Pass the vision test
  • Pass the written test
  • Pay your $7 permit fee

Who should accompany me to the written test?

You should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Do I need to pay a fee to take the written test?

Yes, a $7 instruction permit fee is charged.

What should I expect when I sit for the written test?

You will be presented with a series of 30 multiple choice questions covering driving in the state of Arizona. Each question has a set of multiple-choice answers and you will need to identify and select the correct one. There is no time limit for the test. You cannot refer to the Arizona driver’s manual or any notes. Take a practice test that is formatted like the real thing.

What happens after I pass the written test?

You will be given your Learner’s Permit. You are now required to complete 30 hours of supervised driving practice either with a licensed driver 21 years or older or by enrolling in a driver’s education class.

What happens if I fail the written test?

You can take the test again as early as the next day though it is recommended that you study the areas where you answered questions incorrectly before retaking the exam.

How many times can I retake the written test?

You are allowed to take the test three times within a 12 month period.

I’ve passed the written permit test, what are the next steps?

After passing the written test and receiving your Learner’s Permit, you can start practicing with a licensed driver age 21 or over. You must complete 30 hours of supervised driving practice with 20 hours completed during the day and 10 hours completed at night.

How long after getting my Learner’s Permit can I apply for a restricted license?

You must have your Learner’s Permit for six months before applying for a restricted license. You must also complete 30 hours of supervised driving practice during that time.

Can I drive anywhere in Arizona with my Learner’s Permit?

Provided you are accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older, you can practice driving on any public road or street.

Should I practice driving solely during the day?

No, you must also complete 10 hours of supervised driving practice at night.

Does anyone have to be in the car with me when I’m driving with my Learner’s Permit?

Yes, you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older.

What should I do if I have a lost or expired Arizona Learner’s Permit?

In the event of a lost Learner’s Permit, visit your local MVD office with proper identification to receive a duplicate.

Your Arizona Learner’s Permit expires after 12 months. If your permit has expired, visit your local MVD office and go through the entire procedure again to receive a new Learner’s Permit, including taking the written test and paying the $7 fee.

How can I be sure I’m prepared to ace the driving test?

The keys to passing the driving test are to thoroughly study the Arizona Driver’s Manual and apply what you learn to your driving and then to get as much driving practice as you can.

When practicing be sure that you are practicing good defensive driving and are not developing bad habits.

Are there particular driving maneuvers I should practice?

Common maneuvers tested for on the driving test include 3-point turns, parking, stopping, changing lanes and driving defensively.

How can I simulate the driving test?

Talk to people who have taken the local test and practice the maneuvers they indicated are on the test, such as parking, 3-point turns, etc. Another tip is, if possible, drive the same roads that are used for the test to get more familiar with them.

How do I schedule my driving test?

Visit the MVD website or call your local office to arrange an appointment.

Where do I take the driving test?

You will take the test at a local MVD office that offers it.

What should I bring to the driving test?

Be sure to go to your test with all of the following:

  • A well-maintained vehicle that runs properly
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Learner’s Permit
  • Proof that you have completed 30 hours of supervised driving practice

Who should bring me to the driving test?

If you are under 18 years of age, you should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

What will I be asked to do on the driving test?

After demonstrating knowledge of your car’s systems and that they are functioning properly, you will be required to complete a serious of maneuvers which may include 3-point turns, parking, stopping, accelerating, changing lanes, driving in traffic and more.

You will also need to demonstrate safe, defensive driving techniques.

What are the most common reasons new drivers fail the driving test?

One of the biggest reasons is being unprepared. Be sure to practice driving and to study the Arizona rules of the road so that you will be prepared for whatever circumstances may arise during your test. Also, be sure to do all the “little things” like check your mirrors, follow at a safe distance, etc.

What are five mistakes I should be sure to avoid when taking the driving test?

  • Rolling stops
  • “Peel out” starts
  • Improper hand position on the wheel
  • Not checking your mirrors when changing lanes
  • Following too closely behind the vehicle in front of you

What happens if I fail the driving test?

You can retake the test as soon as the next day.

How many times can I retake the driving test?

You can take the Arizona road test three times in a 12 month period.

I’ve passed the road test, now what?

You will receive your Class G provisional license.

What restrictions come with an AZ Provisional License?

You cannot drive with more than one passenger under the age of 18, unless they are your brothers and sisters or you are driving with a parent or guardian in the front seat.

Also, for the first six months you have your license you cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. Exceptions to this rule include when you have a parent or guardian in the front seat or you are driving to or from work, school or church or there is a family emergency.

What are the insurance requirements for drivers in AZ?

Every motor vehicle operated on Arizona roadways must be covered by an insurance liability policy issued by a company that is licensed to do business in Arizona. Minimum policy requirements are $15,000 for bodily injury liability for one person and $30,000 for two or more persons and $10,000 property damage liability.

What if I need to renew my license or replace a lost/stolen license?

Your Arizona license is valid until age 65. However, you must go in to the local MVD office every 12 years to have your photo updated and to take a vision exam.
You can replace a lost or stolen license online, over the phone, by mail or in person. Contact your local MVD office to learn more.

Where can I renew my Arizona driver’s license?

You can only renew your license in person at a local MVD office.

Will I be required to take a vision test when renewing my license?

You are required to go to an MVD office and pass a vision test every 12 years.

To pass the test, you must have uncorrected vision of 20/40 or better in at least one eye. If you cannot meet this requirement without glasses or contact lenses, you will be given a license with an “A” restriction. An “A” restriction means you must always wear your glasses or contact lenses when driving

How to Get Your Arizona Learner’s Permit

Looking to prepare for the the Arizona permit test but don’t where to begin?  Getting your learner’s permit is the first step toward obtaining your unrestricted driver’s license.

Like many other states, Arizona has a graduated-licensing system (GDL) for teens, which separates the process into three stages and helps you learn important road rules and develop the necessary driving skills before becoming an independent driver.

In Arizona, the GDL program consists of obtaining a:

  • Graduated instruction permit (or learner’s permit)
  • Class G graduated driver’s license
  • Class D operator’s (unrestricted) driver’s license

In this guide, you will learn how to prepare for the Arizona permit test, receive your graduated driver’s license and eventually go on to become an unrestricted driver.

Instruction Permit

When you are at least 15 and a half years old, you can apply for your Arizona graduated instruction permit (also known as the learner’s permit), which will allow you to practice driving with a licensed driver age 21 or over in the passenger seat. The permit requires that you pass a written exam that demonstrates your knowledge of the rules of the road as well as various traffic signs and signals.

The Arizona MVD Permit Test — What You Need to Know

Looking to get your Arizona learners permit or driver’s license?  We can understand your excitement for a permit represents freedom and independence.  Becoming a licensed driver means never having to rely on friends or family to drive you around.  But before you can get behind the wheel, the Arizona MVD (Motor Vehicle Division) requires you to pass the Arizona written test. To pass this test, you will need to thoroughly understand the rules of the road, common road signs and various traffic laws within the state.

Spend Plenty of Time Studying

If you want to do well on the test, you will need to dedicate time to studying. Read the entire handbook and spend extra time on any parts that you’re unsure about. We provide a free copy of the Arizona Driver’s Handbook here, or you can get a physical copy by visiting the office of the Arizona Motor Vehicles Division (MVD) and requesting one.

Prepare the Smart Way With AZ DMV Practice Permit Tests

It might seem like a piece of cake, but every year nearly 50% of first-time test takers fail. Failing the test can mean having to reschedule and head back to the MVD office to take the test all over again.  You may even have to pay additional retesting fees.  Do you really want to take that chance? We know you are eager to get on the road so we’ve put together a set of powerful study tools to help you prepare and master the Arizona permit test. On this site, you’ll find our Arizona practice permit test as well as a copy of the official Arizona Drivers Manual.  Used together, they provide a great set of tools to begin preparing for the test.

Don’t waste your time and money taking a test you aren’t prepared for. Instead, take a few practice tests first. Our Arizona practice permit test includes many of the same topics you will find on the real test and is a great resource for learning.

Collect the Required Items and Visit Your Local MVD Office

Before you head to the MVD to take the test, check to make sure you have everything that is required:

  • A driver’s license application (form 40-5122) with a signature from your parent or guardian
  • Two forms of identification, one of which must include a photograph of you
  • $7 for testing fees

Take the Exams

Try to relax and be positive as you take the written exam. Think carefully about your answers and take all the time you need. After passing, you will take a vision test to ensure you can see well enough to safely drive.

Graduated License

You are eligible to move on to the next stage in the graduated-license process when you are 16 years old, have held your instruction permit for at least six months and have completed at least 30 hours of practice driving with a licensed driver aged 21 or above supervising you. Of those 30 hours, 10 must be at night.

If you don’t have a parent or guardian willing to help, you have the option of completing a state-approved driver’s education course instead.

When you are ready, visit your local MVD office to take the road test. Be sure to bring a few items along with you:

  • Your Arizona graduated instruction permit
  • Two forms of identification, one of which includes your photograph
  • Registration and proof of insurance for the vehicle you’ll be driving during the test
  • $25 for testing and license fees
  • Written certification from your parent or guardian that you completed your necessary practice hours or proof of successful completion from a state-approved driver’s education class

Be aware that the Arizona Class G graduated driver’s license comes with a few limitations:

  • You may not drive with passengers under 18 years of age unless they are family members or your parent or guardian is riding in the passenger seat
  • You may not drive between midnight and 5 a.m. during the first six months of holding your license unless there is a family emergency, your parent or guardian is riding in the passenger seat, or you are on your way to or from a work, church or school event

Operator’s License

When you have your Class G graduated license for at least six months and haven’t had any traffic violations, you will be free to drive without restriction. When you turn 18, you can choose to continue driving with your Class G license or go on to obtain a new Class D license. If you choose the latter, you will need to bring two forms of identification to your local MVD office and pay $12 in fees to receive your Class D license.

Additional Information

If you are a teen with a driver’s license from another state, you can transfer your license to Arizona by bringing your current license to the MVD office, taking a vision test and paying a $25 fee.

AZ Manuals

The latest official AZ state manuals